Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
AWESOME! Great flavor, good kick, not too much anything and a really good different way to make plain ol' rice. Works well with brown rice too--just up the liquids a bit and cook longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Added a little more cayenne for the kick and 1/4 cup cilantro more, it just looked better. Absolutely wonderful. Great with ginger/teriyaki glazed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Really good! Nice favor - a little kick, but not too much. It reminded me of a Moroccan dish. Based on what other reviewers said, I cut down the cumin to 1 tsp. and used equal parts oj and broth (1 cup each). I did need to cook it longer than the stated 20 minutes as the rice was still crunchy, even after the liquid was absorbed. Everyone who ate this dish really liked it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious!! I used pulpy orange juice which was great. Fabulous combination of flavors! I have a gas stove so I needed to add a bit more broth. Will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely loved this fresh tasting rice. Cilantro lovers, you will really like this one! Per previous reviewers suggestion I added 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup orange juice. The flavors were perfect. The cayene makes it. Served with Chicken Kabobs Mexicana, a a great summer entertaining combo. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I left the spices and the cilanto out, but added a cube of chicken boulin. I just threw everyhing in my rice cooker (including the raw onion) and let it do it's thing. Came out nice and sticky and wonderful. Very tasty, will deffinetly make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Very flavorful and delicious. Even though I love cumin I did cut it back to 1 tsp, which I found to be plenty. Otherwise followed exactly and was very happy. Aromatic and yummy. I'll be making this again. My husband loved it too. Thanks for a new spin on a rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. Easy to prepare. Went great with Mandarin Orange Chicken. Gave a 4-star due to the fact we cooked it for the amount of time stated and it was slightly crunchy. Will increase cooking time next time around, but we will definitely be saving the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was very good. I like cumin, but 2 tsp seemed like a lot so I cut it down to one, and I'm glad I did. I also cut down a bit on the orange juice. I served it with Fig and Lemon Chicken from this site, and the two dishes went together very nicely. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
The orange juice and cilantro add some zip to the rice. Nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States