Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
For as fun and tasty as this recipe sounds and looks, its not really all that tasty. I don't think the orange juice and the seasonings went well together. I did enjoy cooking this recipe, i was very excited as well as apprehensive about the orange juice, but im glad i tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Really good! Nice favor - a little kick, but not too much. It reminded me of a Moroccan dish. Based on what other reviewers said, I cut down the cumin to 1 tsp. and used equal parts oj and broth (1 cup each). I did need to cook it longer than the stated 20 minutes as the rice was still crunchy, even after the liquid was absorbed. Everyone who ate this dish really liked it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I love cilantro so anything that I can add that to in my book is great. I did also have to cook it about 8 minutes longer as the rice was still hard and I had to add extra orange juice. Definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious!! I used pulpy orange juice which was great. Fabulous combination of flavors! I have a gas stove so I needed to add a bit more broth. Will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was fine. The saving grace was that I love cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Very flavorful and delicious. Even though I love cumin I did cut it back to 1 tsp, which I found to be plenty. Otherwise followed exactly and was very happy. Aromatic and yummy. I'll be making this again. My husband loved it too. Thanks for a new spin on a rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very good! We ate this with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!!perfect balance of spices!!this one will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Like other readers said, it needs to cook longer than the recipe states otherwise it is crunchy. Also would recommend cutting back on the cumin a bit and doing 1/2 and 1/2 broth and orange juice. Otherwise, tasty and interesting side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. Easy to prepare. Went great with Mandarin Orange Chicken. Gave a 4-star due to the fact we cooked it for the amount of time stated and it was slightly crunchy. Will increase cooking time next time around, but we will definitely be saving the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States