Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made this for the first time tonight & it was a hit all around. My 12-year old daughter even loved it & went back for more! Because I live at high altitude and saw other comments about needing more liquid, I increased the chicken broth to 1 1/4 cup and the orange juice to about 1 3/4 cup for a total of 3 cups liquid. This worked well for me and kept the rice from being crunchy. I also only had basmati rice on hand, so that's what I used. I used the full 2 tsp. of cumin and the cayenne pepper, plus all other listed spices. I served it w/ seasoned pork tenderloin and a big green salad. This rice dish was delicious and flavorful - looking forward to making it again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoCo Mom of 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Very bland. Orange overpowered everything else. Didn't use as much cumin because 2 tsp is way too much. Deleted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Awesome! I have a super picky eater and even he loved it. Did cut the cumin down to 1tsp. And oj and chicken stock to 1 cup each but awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I made it with the Texas Curried Chicken. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was a hit at a cookout we had....went well with grilled chicken and steak...very refreshing!I would recommend letting it cook for at least 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This side dish was made exactly to specification, except we inserted the dash of ginger that so many recommended in their comments. Unfortunately, I still found the dish slightly bland, and the consistency was horribly sticky and the rice clumped together something terrible. I served it with Bev's Orange Chicken (as the Main Course), but even the gravy from the main dish did little to help separate the clinging pieces of rice. *Note: My daughter made this in her rice cooker, which very rarely fails in fully cooking such a rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This rice was good but a little too much with the cumin. If your not a big fan of cumin I suggest don't add so much or don't add it at all, but over all it was delish & loved the orange taste w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both loved it. We have cilantro in the backyard and this gives us one more reason to use it. Instead of cayenne I added some chili peppers and the subtle heat was perfect. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. Everyone loved this! I added orange zest for more orange flavor and used long grain rice so I had to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I added extra orange juice at the end and an extra 10-15 minutes cooking time and it was still a little crunchy. I didn't mind the al dente but the rest of the family didn't care for it. I made it with Smoky Mountain chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States