Orange Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious, with a few tiny alterations. I used chocolate cookie crumbs instead of graham crackers, an replaced the orange juice with 4 tsp. orange extract. It made a solid, weighty cheesecake with a very thick texture and a pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made this for my father, who loves orange and chocolate together, but isn't a big fan of cheesecake. Unfortunately this wasn't good enough to sway his opinion. I added orange extract to the vanilla cheesecake part which kept the chocolate swirls that much more chocalty. I think I'd rather have an all chocolate cheesecake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fabulous I also added orange extract and Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise in PA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great cheesecake. Now to find the perfect fruity sauce to drizzle over the beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Loved this cheesecake! It tasted like a those chocolate oranges that you "whack and unwrap". So good! I used fresh orange juice from the orange that I zested and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVED by all at my Family Christmas Party. Garnished with Blueberries to contrast with the orange flavour. Would do a higher ratio of chocolate to cheesecake mixture, but I don't think I followed the recipe to a T the first time on that front. Needs more orange flavour! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe was great and so easy. I did make a few changes and found they worked out for me. Firstly I cut the sugar by half and it was certainly sweet enough. I made the crust using 1 and 1/4 cups each of digestive cookie and chocolate cookie crumbs. Also I increased the orange juice (I juiced fresh oranges) to 5 tbls which gave it a nice orange flavour. As mentioned by another reviewer I reserved the 2 cups of batter for the chocolate before adding the orange juice and zest which made the orange batter much more orange flavoured. I melted the chocolate in the microwave heating and then stirring it a few seconds at a time until it was completely melted. I baked it with the pan sitting on a muffin tin filled with water as was suggested by someone else to avoid cracking. I decorated it with fresh strawberries and a dollop of cool whip at the end of each slice. It was perfect for my husband's birthday cake! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a really unique cheesecake. It tastes like a Terry's chocolate orange! I did add the orange extract as another user suggested, and added a bit more zest as well. I tried my hardest to avoid getting air whipped into the batter, and even tried to shake the bubbles out before it went into the oven and I still ended up with a huge crack running right down the middle. I used sweetened whipped cream with about 1/2 tsp orange extract to cover the top. Everyone liked it, but it was a bit to rich and unusual to keep them coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A great base-recipe! I made this for my husband's birthday and used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and low-fat cream cheese for the filling. As others mentioned, the orange-flavor wasn't quite strong enough for our tastes, so in addition to the 2 tbs. or orange juice, I added 2 tsp. of orange extract. I also upped the orange zest from 1/2 tsp. to grated peel from a whole medium orange. The only other change I made was to replace 1/4 cup of the sugar in the filling with stevia. The finishined product tasted *exactly* like a Terry's Chocolate Orange, which was what I was hoping for. Thank you so much for the great recipe! I have a feeling this cake is going to become a birthday tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zephyr2003
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cheesecake was wonderful! Dense and creamy and amazing. Like other reviewers, I decided to up the orange flavor. I didn't have orange extract or orange juice concentrate, so I measured out about 1/3c. orange juice and cooked it down until reduced by half. I also used the orange zest of about one whole medium orange (~2-3 teaspoons). Baked the cheesecake in a hot water bath for exactly one hour then turned the oven off and let it cool inside for another hour. Cooled on a wire rack for a good while (had to fend of some tempted family members at this point, haha) and then chilled overnight. I served this on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States