Orange Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious, with a few tiny alterations. I used chocolate cookie crumbs instead of graham crackers, an replaced the orange juice with 4 tsp. orange extract. It made a solid, weighty cheesecake with a very thick texture and a pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made this for my father, who loves orange and chocolate together, but isn't a big fan of cheesecake. Unfortunately this wasn't good enough to sway his opinion. I added orange extract to the vanilla cheesecake part which kept the chocolate swirls that much more chocalty. I think I'd rather have an all chocolate cheesecake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fabulous I also added orange extract and Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise in PA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great cheesecake. Now to find the perfect fruity sauce to drizzle over the beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Loved this cheesecake! It tasted like a those chocolate oranges that you "whack and unwrap". So good! I used fresh orange juice from the orange that I zested and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVED by all at my Family Christmas Party. Garnished with Blueberries to contrast with the orange flavour. Would do a higher ratio of chocolate to cheesecake mixture, but I don't think I followed the recipe to a T the first time on that front. Needs more orange flavour! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe was great and so easy. I did make a few changes and found they worked out for me. Firstly I cut the sugar by half and it was certainly sweet enough. I made the crust using 1 and 1/4 cups each of digestive cookie and chocolate cookie crumbs. Also I increased the orange juice (I juiced fresh oranges) to 5 tbls which gave it a nice orange flavour. As mentioned by another reviewer I reserved the 2 cups of batter for the chocolate before adding the orange juice and zest which made the orange batter much more orange flavoured. I melted the chocolate in the microwave heating and then stirring it a few seconds at a time until it was completely melted. I baked it with the pan sitting on a muffin tin filled with water as was suggested by someone else to avoid cracking. I decorated it with fresh strawberries and a dollop of cool whip at the end of each slice. It was perfect for my husband's birthday cake! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a really unique cheesecake. It tastes like a Terry's chocolate orange! I did add the orange extract as another user suggested, and added a bit more zest as well. I tried my hardest to avoid getting air whipped into the batter, and even tried to shake the bubbles out before it went into the oven and I still ended up with a huge crack running right down the middle. I used sweetened whipped cream with about 1/2 tsp orange extract to cover the top. Everyone liked it, but it was a bit to rich and unusual to keep them coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A great base-recipe! I made this for my husband's birthday and used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and low-fat cream cheese for the filling. As others mentioned, the orange-flavor wasn't quite strong enough for our tastes, so in addition to the 2 tbs. or orange juice, I added 2 tsp. of orange extract. I also upped the orange zest from 1/2 tsp. to grated peel from a whole medium orange. The only other change I made was to replace 1/4 cup of the sugar in the filling with stevia. The finishined product tasted *exactly* like a Terry's Chocolate Orange, which was what I was hoping for. Thank you so much for the great recipe! I have a feeling this cake is going to become a birthday tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zephyr2003
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cheesecake was wonderful! Dense and creamy and amazing. Like other reviewers, I decided to up the orange flavor. I didn't have orange extract or orange juice concentrate, so I measured out about 1/3c. orange juice and cooked it down until reduced by half. I also used the orange zest of about one whole medium orange (~2-3 teaspoons). Baked the cheesecake in a hot water bath for exactly one hour then turned the oven off and let it cool inside for another hour. Cooled on a wire rack for a good while (had to fend of some tempted family members at this point, haha) and then chilled overnight. I served this on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States