Orange Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My first batch following the recipe was disappointing: too dry and ripped apart when you peeled the liners off the muffins. My second batch was very delicious and had a great texture with these changes. Many thanks to the reviewers for some of these ideas: 1. Preheat oven to 400 and prepare muffin pan with liners. 2. In a small bowl prepare the glaze, 2 tsp oj concentrate & 1 tsp powdered sugar. 3. Mix dry ingredients (2 cups all-purpose flour, 3/4 cups sugar (half brown sugar and half white sugar), 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp baking powder, no baking soda, 1 TBSP orange zest, 1 cup mini chocolate chips. 4. In a measuring cup, add 1/3 cup canola oil, 1 egg, 1/2 plain lofat yogurt, and fill to the 1 1/2 cup mark with orange juice (about 1/3 cup). Add 1/4 tsp orange extract. 5. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir just to moistened or almost moistened. Okay to have little bits of flour unmixed. 6. Fill muffins to top of liners and top with glaze. 7. Bake 15-20 until toothpick comes out clean 8. Let cool on rack for 10 minutes before removing from muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Changed the recipe to what I had on hand in the house. Was out of buttermilk so 2 teaspoons of vinegar in the half cup then filled it the rest of the way with milk. Chocolate chips instead of grated squares. Butter instead of margarine. An orange marmalade instead of the juice and zest. Next time I might do half a cup instead of 1/4 thou, for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Loved this idea - the grated baking chocolate really came through in this recipe for a distictive change of pace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe was okay. It might be 4 stars if it had more flavor! The muffins just tasted plain and it was hard to taste the chocolate and orange, even though I doubled the chocolate amount and added orange extract. I might try these again but I will add more orange extract, orange zest, and chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are extraordianry. I used exactly the ingredients the recipe called for--didn't make any substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
this is a very good recipe for muffins.i just added a little less sugar and i think that can be made of varied ingredients.the mixture turns out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are delicious, light, and airy. I used miniature chocolate chips, but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This were a big hit at church this morning. I used chocolate chips because I needed to make them fast and added an orange glaze made out of concentrated orange juice and powdered sugar as soon as they were done baking to add more orange flavor. As a side note I ended up with 16 muffins instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is so yummy! I use 3 oranges for the juice, & abit more zest. Plus i use regular chocolate chips. They are just great, will always make more, & my family loves them that right after they are baked they r gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarkestDreams
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Good recipe. When I made this, I used 1 small fresh orange instead. Not enough orange flavor so next time I will use 2 oranges. Batter turned out thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestDreams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States