Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this twice and my second batch was so much better. The first time I put too much orange zest by packing down the tablespoon. On my second attempt I added the zest a teaspoon at a time and tasted the batter (before adding the raw eggs) until I got the orange flavor right. It ended up being about a tablespoon, just not packed down. Also, make sure you don't get any of the white rind when zesting because it will make the cookies bitter. It took about 10 minutes to bake for a chewy texture. I will definitely make these again. They're so yummy!! One more thing... put the batter in the fridge for at least 10 min before baking and the cookie won't be flat or hard. These also freeze well. I just balled them up and put them in a freezer bag. Place the frozen balls on a cookie sheet and by the time the oven is preheated, the they're ready to go in. It took an extra minute or two to bake. This way I can have fresh baked cookies any time I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicola
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I love the combination of flavors in this cookie. I used orange flavored craisins in place of the chopped pecans and it turned out great! The 15 minute cook time did seem a bit long to me, but I like my cookies to be soft. 10-12 minutes seemed to work out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
These taste pretty good! It's a simple recipe and everyone enjoys a break from the same old, same old chocolate chip cookie. I would advise to check the cookies about 10 minutes into baking, as the 16 minute bake time was WAY too long in my oven. I also added another teaspoon of orange zest for a little extra bite--though anymore would have resulted in a far too bitter taste. Plus, I was very pleased how well these kept their shape on the baking sheet! Nice recipe, thanks Rosina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used tsp orange flavor instead of orange zest and didn't grease cookie sheets other wise made as is...my family was divided on the taste will make these again though because I really enjoy the taste of orange and chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
JUST pulled these out of the oven not 5 minutes ago. All I can say is Mmmmmmmmmm! Not only are they delicious, but my whole house smells wonderful. I followed to recipe exactly and would not change anything. I used my micrograter to get the orange zest nice and fine. Will definetely make on a regular basis. Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I used this recipe as a base recipe - what I was looking for was a tangy orange cookie that would bake up like a chocolate chip cookie. Success! They were flavorful, chewy, crispy on the outside, and nicely orange-y. I might add a tidbit of orange extract next time, but I think they were excellent. I omitted the chocolate chips, and used the zest of two large oranges. I also grated up 2 dark hershey's kisses and added them to the batter for a hint of chocolate and an interesting texture. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
The batter came out a little too soft than I am used to, but everyone said these cookies tasted great! Even I thought so too!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
A a gal that's 20lbs overweight, I think I know a thing or two about cookies!Tastewise they were yummy but I personally had a few problems with them. First, as most people before me already knew, 16 minutes is way too long. I always bake most cookies at 9 minutes and they come out nice and soft. As well next time I'll be using baking soda instead of powder as that will also make them be a little softer. Also, 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips AND the cup of nuts seems to overload it a little...try 1 cup of the chips and 3/4 cup of nuts. I also added an extra half cup of flour as the dough was pretty sticky. This is all personal preference though so if you like your cookies a little harder and full of chocolate chips and nuts then by all means, follow the recipe! All said and done...good taste but needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
My 1st attempt at this recipe failed miserably. On my 2nd attempt, I increased the flour to get the right texture and it turned out well.. Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivian.bakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I have a question. I never get zest right, so I was wondering could I replace that with a little bit of orange jam or marmalade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella_Tragedia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States