Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I have a question. I never get zest right, so I was wondering could I replace that with a little bit of orange jam or marmalade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella_Tragedia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I was so dissapointed in this recipe. I could barely taste the orange. On the first batch I followed the recipe faithfully. Thought it had too many c chips and no orange. Just a beefed up choc chip cookie. On the 2nd batch I added an extra 1 tsp of orange zest and 1 tbsp of orange extract and reduced c chips & pecans by 1/3. Still couldn't really taste the orange. Recipes with orange or any other citrus flavoring are so tricky. Too little, no flavor, too much, bitter. This recipe might work if you used choc chips infused with orange flavoring/liquor, but I won't bother to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
People love these. I added lemon extract in place of vanilla and the cookins were a smash hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratlwm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I really wanted to love these because I love orange and chochalte, but it wast just a little to bitter for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this twice and my second batch was so much better. The first time I put too much orange zest by packing down the tablespoon. On my second attempt I added the zest a teaspoon at a time and tasted the batter (before adding the raw eggs) until I got the orange flavor right. It ended up being about a tablespoon, just not packed down. Also, make sure you don't get any of the white rind when zesting because it will make the cookies bitter. It took about 10 minutes to bake for a chewy texture. I will definitely make these again. They're so yummy!! One more thing... put the batter in the fridge for at least 10 min before baking and the cookie won't be flat or hard. These also freeze well. I just balled them up and put them in a freezer bag. Place the frozen balls on a cookie sheet and by the time the oven is preheated, the they're ready to go in. It took an extra minute or two to bake. This way I can have fresh baked cookies any time I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I used this recipe as a base recipe - what I was looking for was a tangy orange cookie that would bake up like a chocolate chip cookie. Success! They were flavorful, chewy, crispy on the outside, and nicely orange-y. I might add a tidbit of orange extract next time, but I think they were excellent. I omitted the chocolate chips, and used the zest of two large oranges. I also grated up 2 dark hershey's kisses and added them to the batter for a hint of chocolate and an interesting texture. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great flavor, orange wasn't too strong. I almost added orange extract, glad I didn't. I left the nuts out. I added the rest of the bag of choc chips (a small handful more). My son and I liked these quite a bit, my husband did not. He prefers plain cc cookies without alterations, so he was not happy about these. Be warned, these do spread quite a bit and came out rather flat and crispy on the edges, chewy in the middles, similar to how the tollhouse recipe does only more so. I used margarine not butter. Too bad my husband didn't like these because I'd like to make them again. A nice twist on a cc cookie! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow! These cookies are amazing! Just the right shot of orange. Really set off the taste of Bittersweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
A a gal that's 20lbs overweight, I think I know a thing or two about cookies!Tastewise they were yummy but I personally had a few problems with them. First, as most people before me already knew, 16 minutes is way too long. I always bake most cookies at 9 minutes and they come out nice and soft. As well next time I'll be using baking soda instead of powder as that will also make them be a little softer. Also, 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips AND the cup of nuts seems to overload it a little...try 1 cup of the chips and 3/4 cup of nuts. I also added an extra half cup of flour as the dough was pretty sticky. This is all personal preference though so if you like your cookies a little harder and full of chocolate chips and nuts then by all means, follow the recipe! All said and done...good taste but needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I have one big issue with this recipe: That it wasn't double to begin with :-) No, seriously - if you're like me and love the combination of chocolate and orange, these will be your favorite cookies from now on. I just can't understand why I haven't thought of this before! I baked them for 10 minutes - and that with my oven, that was enough. I cut back somewhat on the chocolate to about 150 grams. I think that was sufficient. Also, I used walnuts instead of pecans, and as the walnuts have a stronger flavor, I cut back on the amount here as well. The result was great, and I know I'll make these cookies again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ridiculina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States