Orange Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Oh, oh, oh! This was sublime! I searched for this recipe for years. We would savor this cake as kids growing up in Hawaii. Loved it more than the guava version. I did punch up the orange flavor a lot. Here's how: Used one fresh orange for the zest and then squeezed the juice into the 3/4 measuring cup. Filled the rest of the cup with frozen orange juice concentrate (undiluted. Also, used orange food coloring and an extra egg (yolk and white) for more richness and rise. The texture was super. Light and tender. Heavenly orange flavor. Thank you so much. Made it a third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Very good. The only reason that I gave it a four was because on the recipe, it said to place the cake in an ungreased tube pan- and I had a lot of trouble getting it out. I was able to salvage my cake and cover up some of the affected spots with the orange glaze from this site. (Which was very good and complimented the cake nicely.) Everyone seemed quite pleased with the taste of this cake and using the icing like glue- the appearance wasn't all that bad- it actually looked good. Good recipe and I would make it again- Only in a greased pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful, light cake. To make the recipe a little better, use castor sugar instead of the white sugar. If you can't find castor sugar in your market, which is simply super fine sugar, put 1-1/2 c. sugar in your food processor and give it a whiz for about 45 seconds to a minute. The sugar will dissolve in the batter more easily and create and even lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This is a great "keeper cake" -- perfect to have on hand for serving with summer fruits and berries. It dresses up nicely with custards or creams and quickly becomes an Old Standby Cake. Can't imagine not making it about four or five times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was my first time making any type of "chiffon" cake. I must say this recipe ROCKED!!! The cake was light and fluffy and big enough to serve many, many folks! I served this cake with whipped cream and mandarin orange segments. A total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
I WOULD NOT MAKE THIS CAKE AGAIN. I THINK "BETTYY CROCKER " ORANGE CAKE IS MUCH BETTER. TO SPONGY OR SOMETHING. NOT FLAVORFUL ENOUGH. TOO MUCH FUSS FOR NOT ENOUGH FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I lost this recipe many years ago and I am very grateful that I found this one. This is the best orange chiffon cake ever! Everyone I have made it for wants the recipe or wants me to make another for them. Thank you, Bubbi from MA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This cake was perfect. Just how how a real cake should be. Will definitely use again and again. I made it in a greased 10 inch round and lined the bottom with parchment and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made a grapefruit chiffon cake instead of orange, and the flavor turned out really good. The texture was not as light and fluffy as I was hoping but I think that was more my heavy handedness than anything. I will probably try it again and see if I can't get it lighter this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEABODYDOG
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is my "go to" cake for pot lucks and celebrations. Once the fruit is zested and the egg whites are whipped, it goes together easily. Wonderful served with fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States