Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This was just ok. I love marmalade but it was a little too sweet and perhaps too much flour, as it was very pasty. I should've added some water at some point, since I had no more broth available. Chicken definitely needs to cook longer. MIGHT try again but not until I try altering it somehow. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Sorry but this one is not staying in my recipe box! It is awful! Very bland and the sauce was a very pasty version of BAD gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I'm going to be honest, this was horrible. I didn't even serve it. I had the chicken sauteed, and the sauce simmering and it smelled awful, I was ready to add the chicken but decided to give the sauce a taste first, I'm sure glad I did, It was the worst. I thought it was maybe just me so I called my husband over and made him try it. After that it went straight down the drain and I made the chicken into a different recipie. I love marmelade so that was not the problem. It was the combination of all of the flavors, they just did not go together I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This recipie is nothing like i thought it would be. I didn't like it at all. Im sure this recipe is tasty for people like orange marmalade. I will never make this again. Sorry sarah, but thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
As written this is mearely average at best. I also think the cooking times are way off! You will need to cook the chicken much longer. I added some red pepper and thyme and still found it bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I served this dish to company and got rave reviews. I took advice of other reviews and added green and red bell peppers as well as a little extra lemon juice. We didn't find this dish very sweet at all. The difference in sweetness may be due to the type of marmalade that is used. We found the dish refreshingly tart. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
even if i eat a whole big bowl i can't get enough of the great taste of orange chicken! i love this food and wan't some know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
It is super easy and fast but way too sweet for our liking. We added dashes of salt, chopped green and red bell peppers and some minced garlic just to make it less sweet. I would suggest reducing the maralade and/or added some soy sauce or something to reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I made this recipe for my family tonight. I was expecting it to turn out the way it looks in Chinese resturaunts. Now don't be discouraged to make this recipe just because it looks unpleasant. The taste was very yummy and I would make it again. I only added a pinch of pepper because it is not my favorite taste. I added a little more Lemon Juice that the recipe called for. There was a lot of sauce, but when served over rice it is just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
this was a pretty good recipe, but there was a little too much pepper, it was overpowering the orange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States