Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
this was a great recipie once i did a few alterations. first of all, when i sauteed the chicken i placed orange slices underneath the cuts (i was concerned that the only orange flavor would be coming from the sauce.. it was unneccessary however, as it was a bit overly orangey for my taste). for the sauce i used a 10 ounce can of condensed cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth which eliminated the need for the flour. at the suggestion of other reviews i reduced the amount of marmalade, increased the amount of lemon juice, added garlic and soy sauce. it took longer to cook than it said it would but that wasnt a big deal. it was very tasty and even my boyfriend liked it (and he is very picky, particularly with chicken). i will make it again, but not for awhile... ive had my fill of orange for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Very good overall. I sauteed onions and celery first, added some non-salt seasonings. Found some "sweet" marmelade at the store so mine wasn't bitter, like others have mentioned. I would make it again for sure. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Really good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Very tasty, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I served this chicken for a bridge potluck. I cooked it before I left and put it in a crockpot on low with the sauce over it. It kept very well and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I served it with a wild rice mixture in a separate container. I think I might try putting the rice under the chicken when I serve it at home in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I thought this recipe was great because it was a very quick and simple meal. However, the orange taste was very overbearing for my husband & I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
this is only the second recipe I've tried off all recipes, but I enjoyed it. I want to make a helpful review for people out there who are skeptical of trying this. First off, I was pleased with the meal to an extent, and I'm giving it four stars becuase I think I can make it better. The sauce really didn't "do" anything for me... it didn't taste like restaurants' orange chicken does, rather, I tasted the marmalade a lot, and it didn't really have any "kick" to it, as restaurant orange chicken often does. I would love to get feedback on what other things people have tried in order to make the taste more bold, and... orange chicken like. The 7 minute cook time is definetly not enough. I cooked the chicken at 375, and it took 14 minutes for it to cook. The sauce was too thin - this is probably my fault, but I'm wondering on some good ideas to make the saucer thicker. Many people have commented that the sauce was like a paste, but.. this was not my experience at all. The flavor was good, but I wished it was a tad thicker. I would love to bread the chicken, and see how that tastes too. Overall, this is a good recipe... but, I'd really like to see some tweaking of it to make it better. Thanks Sarah... this is one I'll work on in my kitchen to perfect to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Thanks Sarah, this was so easy and delicious, makes a nice impression. Everyone enjoyed it. I was a little nervous when I mixed the flour in, it did not look very good, but I cooked it as directed, then tasted it before I put the chicken in, the whole texture and appearance changes when you cook it, so go beyond the first impression. Thanks again for a very easy yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I can't believe any of the bad reviews this was getting. This is a quick, easy, and delicious dish. I made this for my dad, who has heart disease and eats very low fat. I used low sodium, low fat chicken broth. He loved it. I will continue to prepare and enjoy this. Thanks for the recipe, Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
It was too tart for my kids but it was good, maybe I would add some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States