Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Oh my GOD!! This was awesome - I did however make a few changes. Instead of broth and flour I used a can of "cream of chicken" soup. I used red pepper flakes instead of regular black pepper and I added a bit of whole garlic(minced) and soy sauce. I also used apricot preserves as well as orange marmalade. It was better then Panda Express!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
very bitter! did not taste like the orange chicken you get in the chinese restaurants at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I was expecting the "Panda Express" type or Orange Chicken - so this was not what I intended to make. Rating for what it was supposed to be though - it was still not one that my family raved about. For us..it was just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was awful. We followed the recipe exactly, but the sauce was horrible. Wasted a pound of chicken and an hour of our lives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I wish I could give this zero stars. I had very high hopes for this recipe and was very disappointed. It looked easy and tasty but proved otherwise. I followed the recipe to a "T", but the sauce was HORRID. It tasted like I was eating a jar of marmalade mixed with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This was wonderful! I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of the black pepper for more spice!! Will definately make this again! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This recipe is great for week nights. It's easy to make and it doesn't take long. The orange sauce is wonderful. I served this with rice and the orange sauce on the rice was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This was a great low cal dish, with flavor that we enjoyed, a little on the sweet side though, but something different. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
this was a great recipie once i did a few alterations. first of all, when i sauteed the chicken i placed orange slices underneath the cuts (i was concerned that the only orange flavor would be coming from the sauce.. it was unneccessary however, as it was a bit overly orangey for my taste). for the sauce i used a 10 ounce can of condensed cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth which eliminated the need for the flour. at the suggestion of other reviews i reduced the amount of marmalade, increased the amount of lemon juice, added garlic and soy sauce. it took longer to cook than it said it would but that wasnt a big deal. it was very tasty and even my boyfriend liked it (and he is very picky, particularly with chicken). i will make it again, but not for awhile... ive had my fill of orange for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Very good overall. I sauteed onions and celery first, added some non-salt seasonings. Found some "sweet" marmelade at the store so mine wasn't bitter, like others have mentioned. I would make it again for sure. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States