Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
coming from a college chick whose never cooked...it came out good and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I've made it for friends on many occasions, and I've never had a dissatisfied customer. When I make it, I add 1/4 cup of soy sauce to tame the sweetness/orange flavor. I also use two skillets and cook the chicken and sauce simultaneously. Oh and to the geniuses who complained about the taste of orange peel, how about you STRAIN THE SAUCE before serving it? I always look forward to cooking this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Sorry, but this really didn't suit our tastes. The orange marmalade made this too sweet & the sauce was too runny. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I wish I could give this recipe a better rating but I'm afraid I was disappointed. Don't expect this recipe to make the kind of "orange chicken" you find at Chinese restaurants-- this chicken was a flour-y, goopy mess that my family wouldn't even eat. I'm sure some people would enjoy it, but not if you're expecting what you get at restaurants. I'll have to keep looking to find out how to make Chinese-style orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
OK--so I stole this tip from Rachael Ray... it occurred to me that the complaints could be because the flour didn't have a chance to cook. I sprinkled the flour over the chicken drippings and let it rest for a minute, then stirred in the chicken stock. After it thickened a bit, I stirred in the marmalade and lemon juice. It turned out to be pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Oh my GOD!! This was awesome - I did however make a few changes. Instead of broth and flour I used a can of "cream of chicken" soup. I used red pepper flakes instead of regular black pepper and I added a bit of whole garlic(minced) and soy sauce. I also used apricot preserves as well as orange marmalade. It was better then Panda Express!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
very bitter! did not taste like the orange chicken you get in the chinese restaurants at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I was expecting the "Panda Express" type or Orange Chicken - so this was not what I intended to make. Rating for what it was supposed to be though - it was still not one that my family raved about. For us..it was just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was awful. We followed the recipe exactly, but the sauce was horrible. Wasted a pound of chicken and an hour of our lives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I wish I could give this zero stars. I had very high hopes for this recipe and was very disappointed. It looked easy and tasty but proved otherwise. I followed the recipe to a "T", but the sauce was HORRID. It tasted like I was eating a jar of marmalade mixed with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States