Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I didn't care for the flavor of this. It was rather bland almost flour tasting and the orange flavor wasn't sweet but more bitter due to the marmalade. Overall, not too crazy about it. Also the appearance was not appealing. It looked like a beige paste with lumps of ckicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The orange sauce on this chicken was terrible. My family could not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this for dinner tonight and while the dish is very quick and easy to prepare with ingredients on hand out of the pantry, it was pretty boring. The flavour wasn't that great, but I did change a few things. The recipes says to cook the chicken, but in what? In a dry pan? Not the best idea, so I added a couple of teaspoons of olive oil to the pan and browned the chicken in that. Instead of using orange marmalade, I used apricot preserves. I also cooked the flour, if you don't do this you will have a nasty tasting mess in the end. I think if you're going to try this dish, you should add some garlic and shallot (or onion), and make sure you season the chicken. With these changes, it might be alright...but I doubt we'll find out I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
i think it was good, but not like the resturants. my best recomendation is to add brown sugar. if you need thin out the sauce alittle too, to balance it. but the sauce should be thick like @ the chinese resturants. But it made a good meal and most of my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
It was good and easy to make. My husband and kids liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
coming from a college chick whose never cooked...it came out good and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I've made it for friends on many occasions, and I've never had a dissatisfied customer. When I make it, I add 1/4 cup of soy sauce to tame the sweetness/orange flavor. I also use two skillets and cook the chicken and sauce simultaneously. Oh and to the geniuses who complained about the taste of orange peel, how about you STRAIN THE SAUCE before serving it? I always look forward to cooking this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Sorry, but this really didn't suit our tastes. The orange marmalade made this too sweet & the sauce was too runny. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I wish I could give this recipe a better rating but I'm afraid I was disappointed. Don't expect this recipe to make the kind of "orange chicken" you find at Chinese restaurants-- this chicken was a flour-y, goopy mess that my family wouldn't even eat. I'm sure some people would enjoy it, but not if you're expecting what you get at restaurants. I'll have to keep looking to find out how to make Chinese-style orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
OK--so I stole this tip from Rachael Ray... it occurred to me that the complaints could be because the flour didn't have a chance to cook. I sprinkled the flour over the chicken drippings and let it rest for a minute, then stirred in the chicken stock. After it thickened a bit, I stirred in the marmalade and lemon juice. It turned out to be pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States