Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
omitted brother and lemon juice added 1/4c soy, 1/4c orange juice, 1/4c white sugar, and 1/4c honey to sauce. I thought this made it ok but my fiance thought it was great. will make again with these changes and might play around a bit more with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was DELICIOUS!!!!!! I fried added garlic to saute the chicken and then fried it a little for flavor. The sause was exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
If I could give it zero stars I would. It is a bad combination of ingredients, nothing could make it better. I ended up eating the chicken by itself with rice. I make many recipes off of allrecipes.com, and this is the first one to disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This turned out quite nicely. I used no sugar added Marmalade. Perhaps regular would have given the dish a bit sweeter flavor. But for diabetics it is the best solution. Will certainly have this recipe again. Over a bed of rice with a greek salad very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I loved it. It was the perfect combination of flavors. Hint of orange, juicy and tasty! Yum. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Well, I love orange chicken but the original posted recipe just isn't even close. Sorry Sarah, but I have to agree with the other reviews - it's not good. I tried to salvage it by adding very liberal doses of brown sugar, soy sauce and garlic powder. Had to then thin it out with water. Substituted boneless chicken with frozen popcorn chicken and added a bag of frozen Chinese veggies. Mixed in cooked white rice too. After all that it was okay -edible at least- but still maintained a slightly bitter after-taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
after tripling almost everything except the chicken broth. the sauce came out alot better then originally stated in the recipe & the taste was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I didn't care for the flavor of this. It was rather bland almost flour tasting and the orange flavor wasn't sweet but more bitter due to the marmalade. Overall, not too crazy about it. Also the appearance was not appealing. It looked like a beige paste with lumps of ckicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The orange sauce on this chicken was terrible. My family could not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this for dinner tonight and while the dish is very quick and easy to prepare with ingredients on hand out of the pantry, it was pretty boring. The flavour wasn't that great, but I did change a few things. The recipes says to cook the chicken, but in what? In a dry pan? Not the best idea, so I added a couple of teaspoons of olive oil to the pan and browned the chicken in that. Instead of using orange marmalade, I used apricot preserves. I also cooked the flour, if you don't do this you will have a nasty tasting mess in the end. I think if you're going to try this dish, you should add some garlic and shallot (or onion), and make sure you season the chicken. With these changes, it might be alright...but I doubt we'll find out I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States