Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
With a few tweaks this recipe is fantastic! After reading a few reviews and following my own taste I decided to omit the salt as suggested and am happy I did. I also added 1/2 tsp of groung ginger and 1/8 of a tsp of red pepper flakes, and coated the pieces of chicken with corn starch before frying. This recipe is easily tailored to your specific taste, which always makes a great recipe. I used my own combo of veggies too, broccoli, a julienne of carrots and cabbage, snow peas, and yellow bell pepper all served over a bed of brown rice. My husband said it was better than take out! **** note: I did not need to add flour since I coated the chicken pieces in corn starch before cooking them. If I wanted it to be thicker I would have used more corn starch, not flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The picture does not match the ingredients. It's not that great. It is a starter but needs additional items to improve taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe-- but needs a sodium reduction(!) so.... I made the following changes-- I used 1 tbsp. of harrisa flavored EVOO with 2 tbsp. of EVOO. Cut salt to 1/2 tsp and used low sodium soy sauce. Instead of bean sprouts I added fresh sugar snap peas (in pod) and sliced portabellas and allowed to steam. I served over long grain and wild rice (do not use the flavor packet!) This recipe is definitely worthy of an encore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My family did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Used thighs instead of breasts. Added package of stir fry veggies. Used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken. Even our small dogs enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Recipe was quite good with some modifications i.e. no salt, reduced soy sauce to about a tablespoon, and added oyster sauce. Added tofu, bean sprouts, & carrots & served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was really good! At the end of cooking the chiken I had pre-cooked in the microwave a pack of stir fry vegies then added to finished chicken and served rice with it. Hubby loved this recipe! This is quick easy and really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great base! I used no salt, added teriyaki, used 4 cloves of garlic, and skipped the zest. Also, instead of vegetable oil, I used sesame oil, and then added broccoli, carrots, white onion and mushroom. I also served it on a bed of rice instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was like eating sugar with your chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Finally an orange chicken to rival takeout! I doubled the sauce recipe and served it over a minced onion and orange and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States