Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
DELICIOSO! i used 2 tbspns orange zest (too much. so follow recipe 1 tbspn) & juiced 3 oranges. i added alot of ground ginger also the the liquid mix. i used diced thighs & breast. i used about 1 tbspn cornstarch & it thickened the liquid just right. all in all,this dish was wonderful.. quite a change from the usual chicken dinners !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Not being a fan of soy sauce I should have cut the soy down to maybe 2 tbsp. I found it to be too much and made the dish salty. however it was still good. I will try it again with less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Making it tonight, the sauce is so nice! I didn't add the extra salt as with the soy (I use Ketjap Manis) and the lovely orange flavour, no extra salt was needed. I also did not use the Chinese noodles, instead made some white rice to serve it over and I added the bean sprouts and some water chestnuts for the crunch texture. I also added on the side some Conimex Kroepoek for that lovely crunch and flavour. Excellent! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I liked this recipe, i made a few changes that tweaked it to my tasting. I added ground Ginger and red pepper flakes. I also added baby corn and water chestnuts. I also added chopped frozed peas and carrots for color. I also added the orange zest from an entire naval orange so it came to about 2 tablespoons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Made a couple of changes: used an actual orange- squeezed the juice out of it and got the zest. It made it taste so fresh & delicious, rather then packaged orange juice. Also, did not thicken the sauce, it was good as is, for us. Added ginger made a big delicious difference :) Played with the amount of brown sugar a little- ended-up adding less then this recipe calls for. At first, whn tasted the sauce wasn't impressed with flavor, but once it cooked out, it turned out DELICIOUS!! My teenager who is a picky eater LOVED IT & so did hubby & baby too. I did not use sprouts- used a package of frozen broccoli instead & served over rice pilaf. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very tasty! Next time I make it I think that I will add sliced celery and carrots as well as 1/4 tsp. of grated fresh ginger. I served mine over cooked brown rice, which I believe is healthier than the chow mein noodles. I also will double the recipe, as this was enough for only my husband and I, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
this was good, next time i'll add pinapple and green and red peppers as someone else suggested, then it may be 5 star :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Was surprised by how disappointed the whole family was in this dish since it got great reviews. To each their own, I guess! Followed the recipe reasonably closely to be able to rate it, we did not like it at all, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I did how ever put a twist on it. Instead of using chicken I used firm tofu, broccoli, and king oyster mushrooms. Didn't even miss the chicken. Added a little bit more flour to thicken than suggeted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
With a few tweaks this recipe is fantastic! After reading a few reviews and following my own taste I decided to omit the salt as suggested and am happy I did. I also added 1/2 tsp of groung ginger and 1/8 of a tsp of red pepper flakes, and coated the pieces of chicken with corn starch before frying. This recipe is easily tailored to your specific taste, which always makes a great recipe. I used my own combo of veggies too, broccoli, a julienne of carrots and cabbage, snow peas, and yellow bell pepper all served over a bed of brown rice. My husband said it was better than take out! **** note: I did not need to add flour since I coated the chicken pieces in corn starch before cooking them. If I wanted it to be thicker I would have used more corn starch, not flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States