Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made a vegetarian version of this using Quorn "Tenders" (beleive me, the Tenders aren't the problem with this recipe, I use them all the time.) I left out the salt, the soy sauce already makes this salty. I added a package of frozen organic broccoli flowerets. Adding the flour to the mixture in this manner doesn't work, it lumps. It would be better to mix the flour with the oj, or coat the "chicken" with it. We ate it for dinner, but not the leftovers (something that never happens at my house.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I found the taste too strong and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
So-so. Definitely don't add the tsp of salt though. Needs the color of the mixed veggies to give it a little zip - it's very bland looking otherwise.! I was hoping it would have the orange "glaze" type sauce but it definitely wasn't that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy Strand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great recipe! Soooo delicious! Used green pepper and pineapple chunks instead of bean sprouts...they are listed as optional anyway. If you like bean sprouts, then I'm sure it would still be 5 stars. Also, I used pineapple juice from the can of pineapple instead of orange juice, but I still think it would've been 5 stars with OJ! Did everything else according to the recipe. Think it would be great over rice and garnished with cashews. Oh, I almost forgot...reduced salt content to 1/2 teaspoon. Kept everything the same, even the zest. That's all the changes, I swear! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this a while ago and hadn't seen it until it popped up in my in box. I always make this with cubed boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts because they're tender, moist and flavorful--never dry. I occasionally add a bit of powdered ginger to this recipe; if I think ahead, I chop up candied ginger in small pieces--about a tablespoon--and add that. It makes it really yummy! I have also chopped up about 3 tablespoons of dried apricots and added it to this, along with the candied ginger and the flavor was really enhanced by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love this and so did my husband. I added baby corn and snow peas. I put it over chow mein noodles and hubby put it over rice. I don't cook with salt and I use reduced sodium soya, still tasted lovely. I like the zest from the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
One of the most flavorful meals Ive made from allrecipes.It was a big hit and made it to the regular rotation...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this 2 nights ago, tweeked it slightly by adding some fresh mushrooms and onions, it became an instant favorite...Amazing how much flavor that orange and orange zest can add !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I used this recipe for the sauce ingredients. I added a couple teaspoons of chili paste with garlic (Lan Chi brand) because everybody in our house wants some spice in their stir fry, and the orange flavor still came out. It smoothed out the chili paste and gave the whole dish a delicious richness. I'll be using this again. I did omit the salt. Sprouts sound like a perfect addition and next time I'll have them on hand as well as the other vegetables I used (broccoli, celery, red bell pepper and mushrooms). Thanks for a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband LOVED this. He said it is on par with any restaurant orange chicken. I am giving this recipe 5 stars because if I made it as written, it would be great. However, I did slightly modify the recipe for my own preference. As some other readers, I added a bag of stir fry veggies at the same time that I added the sauce. I used corn starch instead of flour for thickening, and I took some readers advice and omitted the salt. This was a GRAVE mistake. Even though we tried the sauce beforehand, we found that the sauce lacked salt when we sat down to eat. In our own bowls we added more soy sauce to add salt and to cut some of the sweetness. My husband also added siracha as he loves heat. We will definitely make this again but with more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States