Orange Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was super bland. For all effort, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe as written (although we use coconut oil to cook). I used fresh squeezed orange juice and zest but it really didn't taste orange-y at all. My guy said it was "good" and "edible" but neither of us thought it was very flavorful. I was really excited about this one and it didn't pan out. At least it was healthy with all that veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Brown sugar. That's all this recipe needed. And a good squirt of sriracha. Excellent with those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and was quite disappointed! Not sure if I went wrong somewhere.. The only changes I made was I didn't use frozen veggies (subbed onions and orange peppers) and didn't have snap peas. My chicken broth was sodium free which may be why I felt the sauce to be a little bland. Both my boyfriend and I had to add hot sauce as it tasted very plain! I'm sure the recipe tastes great if made word for word. I may try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe was just okay. I would try it again with my own touches. We found it to be much too bland. I did use fresh ginger, and all fresh veggies, but I can't see how that would make that much of a difference. Would try it again, but with some major doctoring to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this the other night using two packages of frozen veggies and no fresh ones because I was short on time. I also served it over brown rice. My husband told me about three times during the meal that he really liked it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was one of my fav dishes! It was easy and very tasty. I used all fresh vegs and freshly squeezed oranges. I did add extra red flakes and the heat with the oj sauce worked great. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I tried the recipe just as is except I used fresh veggies instead of frozen. Way too hot for my family !! The 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes was too much of a "kick". I did not like the orangey taste with Stir-fry. The Stirfry sauce had a smooth and perfect consistency. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent! I too didn't use frozen veggies, added carrots, no hot peppers. Took longer than 20 minutes to prep. Added more ginger, orange zest was just right for us! I also added a little more soy sauce to taste (I had used "less sodium" soy sauce), and my daughter added some salt - but, we all loved it! We had plenty for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
thought this was bland. It needs more kick. If I make this again, I would up the amount of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made a few alterations in the cooking method. I sauteed my vegetables separately, then added them to chicken mixture. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States