Orange Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This recipe is a lot of things, but it is not a stir fry, which by definition is cooking small bits of food quickly in a very hot pan. The chicken is more boiled, than fried, as are the vegetables. Half a cup of orange juice is 4 tablespoons, which is mixed with 3 tablespoons of soy sauce - an almost 50/50 combination which pretty much kills the orange flavor or sweetness. To follow the recipe, total cooking time is between 14 and 20 minutes, certainly not a stir fry. I was left with a lot of liquid, and some overcooked vegetables. I added sliced pieces of the green portion of a leek, a drop of orange extract, some mirin, and a tablespoon of orange/apricot preserves, trying to cover the soy sauce flavor, and a few other things that I don't recall. What I ended up with wasn't bad when rice was mixed in; in fact it tasted better the next day. But it certainly wasn't the stir fry I was expecting, and only realized it wasn't as I was actually preparing it per the instructions. Not on my hit parade, but probably partially my fault for only looking at the ingredients and not fully reading the preparation instructions more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Ugwu
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made the orange chicken stir fry. It turned out great! I didn't have all off the ingredients, so i improvise. Trick... add oyster sauce, it gives the dish a very nice flavor and tang!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Ugwu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Not the glazed type you'd get from ordering takeout but was a yummy 'healthier' version that was still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was super bland. For all effort, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe as written (although we use coconut oil to cook). I used fresh squeezed orange juice and zest but it really didn't taste orange-y at all. My guy said it was "good" and "edible" but neither of us thought it was very flavorful. I was really excited about this one and it didn't pan out. At least it was healthy with all that veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Brown sugar. That's all this recipe needed. And a good squirt of sriracha. Excellent with those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and was quite disappointed! Not sure if I went wrong somewhere.. The only changes I made was I didn't use frozen veggies (subbed onions and orange peppers) and didn't have snap peas. My chicken broth was sodium free which may be why I felt the sauce to be a little bland. Both my boyfriend and I had to add hot sauce as it tasted very plain! I'm sure the recipe tastes great if made word for word. I may try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe was just okay. I would try it again with my own touches. We found it to be much too bland. I did use fresh ginger, and all fresh veggies, but I can't see how that would make that much of a difference. Would try it again, but with some major doctoring to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this the other night using two packages of frozen veggies and no fresh ones because I was short on time. I also served it over brown rice. My husband told me about three times during the meal that he really liked it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was one of my fav dishes! It was easy and very tasty. I used all fresh vegs and freshly squeezed oranges. I did add extra red flakes and the heat with the oj sauce worked great. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States