Orange Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A soft, moist cookie! The texture is the same as a "whoopie pie" style cookie- they do not spread while baking. We toasted our walnuts on the stovetop with butter and salt before chopping, and added raisins to the batter. The kids also shook in some cinnamon and nutmeg. Each cookie is like a mini carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I thought the recipe was missing a bit in the flavor dept, and I'm so glad I followed my instinct, because the flavor is light enough as I made them...without the changes I think they'd be quite bland. I added orange zest and juice to the batter, plus about 4.5 tsps of spices: allspice, ginger, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice. The batter looks very wet, so the cookies are very cake like. I made cream cheese frosting and added another orange worth of zest plus half an orange's juice to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening--it was what I had on hand and added 1/2 tsp of orange extract to the glaze frosting. These turned out pretty good. Took them to work--they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
THESE ARE GREAT. I USED CANNED CARROTS TO SAVE TIME AND I JUST ADDED STORE BOUGHT ORANGE JUICE TO THE POWERED SUGAR UNTIL I HAD THE RIGHT CONSISTENCY FOR THE GLAZE. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Worth the extra time to cook and mash the carrots. The whole family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My grandmother made these all the time at Christmas too! They are definitely cake-like cookies, and I firmly believe the recipe is not to be messed with :) I have never heard of putting nuts in them, and prefer them without, but the rest of the measurements/ingredients in this recipe is identical to her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
very tasty, moist cookies. an excellent recipe- took some to work and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Without the walnuts, these are exactly as I remember the ones my grandmother would send to me in Vietnam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These are FANTASTIC cookies. I don't like nuts so I leave them out but otherwise I make as is. For the pureed carrots I use babyfood . Makes my life easier that way. They are super good without the glaze as well. For the shortening I use spectrum organic palm oil shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I have made these cookies since I was in middle school, and like to make them for Easter, but couldn't find my recipe, so used this one. They were good. I used half whole wheat flour and used a plastic cup of cinnamon applesauce in place of 1/2 cup of the shortening. (I also had to use butter instead of shortening for another 1/2 cup; that's all I had.) They were good. I did have some dried orange zest and I think that added a lot to the icing. So while I would have thought the whole orange and zest thing could be skipped, I think it adds a lot to the icing. (I added a touch of zest to the dough also.) I could not seem to get the icing right. I added 1 tablespoon oj to 1/2 cup powdered sugar and it was way too thin, so start out with very small amounts of juice. They had icing dripped down the sides even after I tried to thicken it. I will make these again, but will look for my old recipe to see if there were any differences that made for an improvement on taste. They were good, but I don't think everyone loved them at the Easter dinner I attended. Cheesecake and brownies with ice cream seemed a bit more popular. GREAT way to add beta carotene to a veggie hater's diet. I gave them without icing to my 1 year old who has decided she doesn't like carrots anymore, and she loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States