Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cherry_baby89
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this twice, the first time following the directions minus a minor substitution of lemon pudding for vanilla pudding. I didn't find that it had enough of an orange punch so I added a pack of koolaid orange powder mix in addition to the vanilla pudding. I also made a white cake mix so the cake was much lighter than the yellow cake. They turned out amazing. Great for those with a sweet tooth and looking for the kick of orange :-) I reduced a lot of the lemon additives as I found it made it too sour. Great recipe! -CW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeLaine Wilson
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
2nd time I have made this cake, it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLaine Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy, smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Easy versatile recipe. You can change the flavors by changing the cake mix and pudding and the juices. I have made many different cakes from the basic idea. I put a light powders sugar frosting on these or put on a lift glaze while the cake is hot. Fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was my first attempt, so I stuck to the recipe. It was tasty, but I think I will try the vanilla pudding substitution next time. Also, the glaze in step 4 didn't really work for me, so my housemate (who has been to culinary school) suggested taking a couple of cups of powdered sugar and mixing it with a few tablespoons of orange juice (you have to kind of "feel it out" as you mix them together) to get a nice glaze which went over the cake and hardened up. It tasted and looked really good, and I definitely recommend going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious! I followed another reviewers advice and used vanilla pudding, and I also used Orange extract. The glaze was very thin and excessive, if anyone has tips on that I'd love to hear them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Very moist my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this cake and followed the directions exactly. The cake was delicious!I made it at Easter and everyone loved it. It was pretty easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyCarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latonia, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It was a moist cake and a great cake. On 2nd time baking I used vanilla pudding, did 1 cup orange juice, and before letting the icing drizzle I took knife and slit holes all around. I think the icing needs to be a bit more carmalized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a very good cake, but the cake itself does not really have an orange taste as the name implies. I did not have lemon extract so I had to improvise with some lemon zest and just a touch of lemon juice. The cake did not have an overwhelming lemon taste, but a light citrus taste. I really loved the orange glaze with it. This was a big hit with my family and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States