Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was my first attempt, so I stuck to the recipe. It was tasty, but I think I will try the vanilla pudding substitution next time. Also, the glaze in step 4 didn't really work for me, so my housemate (who has been to culinary school) suggested taking a couple of cups of powdered sugar and mixing it with a few tablespoons of orange juice (you have to kind of "feel it out" as you mix them together) to get a nice glaze which went over the cake and hardened up. It tasted and looked really good, and I definitely recommend going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious! I followed another reviewers advice and used vanilla pudding, and I also used Orange extract. The glaze was very thin and excessive, if anyone has tips on that I'd love to hear them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Very moist my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this cake and followed the directions exactly. The cake was delicious!I made it at Easter and everyone loved it. It was pretty easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyCarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latonia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It was a moist cake and a great cake. On 2nd time baking I used vanilla pudding, did 1 cup orange juice, and before letting the icing drizzle I took knife and slit holes all around. I think the icing needs to be a bit more carmalized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a very good cake, but the cake itself does not really have an orange taste as the name implies. I did not have lemon extract so I had to improvise with some lemon zest and just a touch of lemon juice. The cake did not have an overwhelming lemon taste, but a light citrus taste. I really loved the orange glaze with it. This was a big hit with my family and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Best way to add more orange flavor is to add orange zest and omit the lemon extract. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This cake is also known as Harvey Wallbanger Cake when made with 1/4 cup of Galiano liquer and 1/4 cup of vodka along with 1/4 cup of orange juice as the liquid in the batter. I agree that the pudding mix should be a white mix. If you use all or part Galiano for the glaze , and don't boil the alcohol off, the cake will have a nice punch. The cake itself will be alcohol free as it will evaporate as the cake bakes, leaving only the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is seriously a great cake, and it's easy to make. I read the reviews of others and here are the changes I made: used Duncan Hines Orange Supreme cake mix, vanilla pudding mix (accidentally got cook and serve instead of instant but the cake was delicious), and used vanilla instead of lemon extract. The cake had a great orange flavor, and the glaze added some extra sweetness and orange flavor. I made it for a few friends who came over for dinner, and they all loved it. It is a satisfying dessert, but not overly heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This cake is much better to me using Duncan Hines Orange cake mix and orange jello instead of the vanilla pudding. Everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States