Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I chose this to make as a pound cake...Oops, not one but OMG! It was devine. The smell, while baking was fabulous! And was it moist and soft when I cut into it...yes it was. We were digging into it before glazing. And hmmmm!! I used fresh squeezed orange juice for the whole recipe. And I didn't have lemon extract on hand. I actually had orange...so I used it. nummy nummy!!! TY it's a totally keeper. However, the glaze...isn't for me. It really needs confectioner's sugar to glaze it nicely, however it's like a orange simple sryup...and it soaked right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Instead of all the pudding mixes, orange juice, lemon extract i just use a big orange .. it comes our realllyyyy tasty!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I thought this cake was moist and flavorful. I could have eaten all of it! I took it to work to share and it did not get devoured. Guess they are not orange cake people. Their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very good! I used this recipe to make cupcakes, they turned out great! I just used the temp and cooking time on the yellow cake mix box. Other then that, I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Family Favorite! Thank for a recipe that is treasured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
A wonderful cake. I changed the recipe per suggestions from other reviewers. I used vanilla pudding instead of lemon, used orange extract instead of the lemon and added 1 Tbs of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
GREAT cake with slight modifications. In addition to the pudding, I also added a large box of sugar free orange jello mix, and instead of 1 tsp of lemon extract, I added 2 tsp of orange extract. I also just sprinkled powdered sugar on top and did not glaze it. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is my favorite cake of all time with a few modifications...I use vanilla pudding, 1 tsp orange and 1 tsp vanilla extract and the zest of one orange. The other trick is to use concentrated OJ and only dilute with 2 cans of water. These changes make this cake truly tasting like fresh orange. Eat with vanilla ice cream for a REAL treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I had somewhat mediocre expectations of this cake recipe since it called for a box yellow cake mix to begin with and "box cake" usually ends up tasting "artfifical". Boy, I was wrong with this one. I think a lot had to do with what additions I made to the batter. Instead of lemon, I used 1 tsp of orange extract, fresh squeezed naval orange juice, and 1 T of orange zest. This cake ended up being very orange-y tasting. I was pleased with the results. Loved the teeny specks of orange zest in the cake and my kitchen filled with a cirtus orange-y aroma-very nice. The glaze is a very nice, orange flavor, not overpowering. I added the glaze to the bottom of the cake first, let it soak up, then I inverted it to a plate to glaze the sides, drizzled the rest of the glaze to the top. let it soak up all the glaze. The glaze really makes this cake shine adding a nice orangey buttery flavor to the already delicious orange cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this recipe with two of the recommended adjustments: orange supreme cake mix instead of yellow cake mix, and vanilla instead of lemon extract. I made it as a sheet cake instead of a bunt cake, and it turned out great. I mixed some store-bought butter cream frosting with about a cup of whipped topping and topped the cake. We really liked it. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States