Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Like any I like to tweak recipes. I used an orange cake mix and added a 3 oz. pkg. of instant vanilla pudding mix. In place of orange juice I used orange soda/pop/ soft drink plus about a tsp. of orange extract. After baking for about 30 minutes @325 in a convection oven it was done. I let it cool overnight and then I hand squeezed half an orange overthe cake. Then a dusting of confectioner sugar and watch the grandkids wipe it out. I was able to salvage a piece and can attest to its goodness. Very orange taste and moist. One grandchild asked for it as their next birthday cake rather than my famous " flip over cake" ( pineapple upside down in an old iron skillet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
AWESOME cake, with a couple modifications: I replaced the lemon pudding with vanilla. I also used orange extract instead of lemon. I served this New Year's eve and it was a HUGE hit. My husband and I generally prefer chocolate over fruit flavored desserts, but we both couldn't get over how great this cake was. I'll be making it again next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Perfectly delicious! I made these as cupcakes using orange extract instead of the lemon extract and baking for about 25 minutes at 325. They came out golden brown on top and they were light and fluffy on the inside. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I don't know if I did anything wrong but this was the worst cake I ever baked. It tasted very artificial and turned out very dry. It also tasted too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
So yummy!!!!! Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The Best and Most Moist cake ever!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious! Shared with co-workers and received raving reviews. Everyone loved it. I did take others advice and used orange extract instead of lemon. Also used vanilla pudding instead of lemon. I will definately make this again. Thank you for sharing Angie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Oh my gosh!!! This is one awesome recipe! Well after I read others reviews on how using lemon extract makes it seem more of a citrus cake, I changed a few things and I hope this helps someone out there to make a orange delight! First I used butterscotch pudding because I didn't have vanilla, second into the batter I put the zest of two oranges along with their juice which produced 3/4 needed in the recipe, I also made them into cupcakes and baked them only for 27 minutes. They came out so good...I don't even know where to begin. They taste almost like eating a cake form of those orange breakfast cinnamon rolls, except no cinnamon!!! They are delicious...my family who are very picky said...no icing for these they're great just like this and devoured them! It made about 18 cupcakes. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
My family really enjoyed this ,its lemony and orange in colour ,thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
One of the pastors at my church called me and said he was thinking of the Orange Cake I brought to Bible study Sunday evening...he said it was better than the real whipped cream that I make that he absolutely adores...so I have one cooling on my counter for him...LOL I grated one Cutie tangerine peel into the cake mix, as well as used orange, instead of lemon, extract...Also, the cake mix had pudding in it, so I added 1 package of white chocolate pudding mix...that made me think I may need a little more orange juice and I used 1 1/3 cups orange juice in the cake mix. It was perfect!!!! OH! I also sprayed my bundt cake pan and took white cane sugar and dusted the whole pan with it before I put in the cake mix...it gives such a nice little crunch in the mouth when you bite down on the cake...lovely texture! Poured part of the hot orange juice mixture over the cake before I removed it from the pan and 10 minutes later, I poured the remaining sauce over the whole cake as it cooled on the rack...Perfect cake for a cake mix...I am a scratch baker, but will come back to this for a quick, easy charming cake. ********** 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States