Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this cake according to the recipe. It was the best cake ever if you like Lemon. Although you put orange juice in it. The lemon was very overwhelming. I think I will do what the other reviews suggested and use an orange cake mix and use vanilla pudding. maybe an orange extract also. But over all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Unbeatable!! Delicious!! There are not enough adjectives to describe how delicious this cake is and so very, very easy!! This cake will impress your family and friends! I made it as described and made the mistake of cutting a small sliver of cake to taste; found that I could have eaten the entire cake in one sitting!! Next time I will try to vanilla pudding instead of lemon but just can't imagine anything better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this the other day, and it was delicious. I didn't separate anything, all in one bowl, and I beat it with my electric mixer. I did add the orange flavouring rather than the lemon, and also grated orange rind into it. Used vanilla pudding mix - not lemon, and in my glaze, just icing sugar, a drop of orange flavouring and a little water, whisked and drizzled over the cake. Made in a bundt pan. Very delicious, you can hardly leave it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
It was really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
If you can find it Duncan Hines makes an Orange Cake Supreme cake mix. I would use vanilla pudding and maybe omit the extract. This basic list of ingredients can be used for a multitude of cakes. Pound cake recipe should be on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family loved this cake. My husband wasn't very enthusiastic about it at first but he practically inhailed the first piece and asked for a second. Like other reviewers I made changes (I used orange supreme cake mix, vanilla pudding, orange extract). What a bold, popping orange flavor! The glaze is pretty amazing as well. I doubled it for extra and divided it using half on the whole cake and saved the rest to drizzle over each cake slice with a big dollop of homemade whipped cream. As my son would say, 'knawesome!! Thank you Angie for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This cake is a good cake for a cake made with a box mix. I do think it has a "mix " flavor that does come thru and that is why I am giving it four stars instead of five. However, for a quick cake from a storebought mix, I think it is pretty good. My grandaughter said she loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Sinfully delicious. I used vanilla pudding and orange extract as others recommended. I'm at altitude and should have taken it out of the oven a little earlier than I did - so you might want to watch it as the time gets close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
A friend gave me this recipe many years ago and it is one of my favorite. For the frosting I use more orange juice so it is more of a liquid. Then I use a syringe and inject is throughout the cake and this makes it very moist. I also make the frosting as it is called for and pour it over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
wow This was truly amazing. I loved it and so did everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States