Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Good but I would have liked a little more orange flavor. I did substitute oange flavoring for the lemon but it still did not have the orange flavor I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Per other reviews, I used vanilla pudding and orange extract, and I brought the glaze to a boil. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Excellent! I try to follow the directions the first time I try a new recipe but after reading the recipe and knowing what I wanted, I did change it up a bit. I wanted an "orange" cake, not citrus, so I used Duncan Heinz Orange Supreme cake mix with vanilla pudding and vanilla extract. I used a bundt pan to bake my cake. After turning out the cake and allowing it to cool, I made the glaze and poured it into the cleaned and sprayed, empty bundt pan. Then I put the cake back in, pushing it down until the glaze rose up the sides. In a couple minutes all the glaze was evenly absorbed into the cake. I turned the cake back out onto a serving plate. This worked perfectly and the cake absorbed all of the glaze. I was ready for a lighter cake, no heavy, sweet frosting, etc. and this was perfect. I considered a bit of white chocolate drizzle and so glad I didn't. It was perfect as is. The fam sort of checked it out and didn't say too much until they tried it, they all loved it, even the younger kids that are always into frosting and sprinkles. It was so shinny and beautiful, moist and orangey. Next time I will add a small bit of drizzle just to make it look a little more appetizing. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I followed the changes made by reviewer Naples..... and was very pleased with this orange cake. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My family liked it but I didn't particularly care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Husband loved it... I used vanilla pudding (because I could not find lemon) and I used orange extract. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Magnificent!!!! I only used 3 eggs, and I used vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This cake turned out beautifully. I used the lemon pudding, but vanilla extract instead of lemon (because that was what I had) and the flavor was great. My husband literally licked the plate! It was very moist and the orange flavor was subtle, but overall a nice citrus flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I followed the recommendations, and used vanilla pudding and orange extract. It is exactly what I was craving. I love lemon flavor too, but wanted something strictly orange, and by making these changes, that is what I got. Next time I will try it w/ lemon pudding and extract. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspurkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is very delicious and I didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States