Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was pretty good. I agree that it was much more citrus tasting than orange. I would be interested in switching up some of the flavors to make it more of an orange cake. It was nice and most. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I made cupcakes from the recipe for my coworkers. What a nice change from chocolate! They disappeared by lunchtime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this is hands down the tastiest cake I've ever eaten! I used french vanilla cake mix and vanilla pudding instead of lemon. ...I also used orange extract instead of lemon to give it a zesty orange flavor. I cooked it in a regular cake pan as well. Then I warmed vanilla frosting and added orange extract to taste... this cake was the best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is an awesome orange cake recipe. I did make some changes to fit my needs. Lemon pudding was substituted for vanilla pudding per another reviewer. I left out the extract altogether because I didn't want to buy lemon or orange extract as they are not ones I use often. I also used fresh squeeze OJ mixed with equal parts store-bought juice. I added about 1Tbs grated orange zest. Original recipe makes a bundt pan but I made cupcakes with orange-cream cheese frosting instead. I made these for a coworker's BDay & everyone raved about them! Makes about 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
this was a really good cake. I had pretty low expectations since i do not like box cake at all. however i had box of lying around so i decided to try this cake and you can't even tell it came mostly from a box! I kept the recipe as is except adding the zest of a whole orange and when it was cool i poke holes in it and poured the glaze in (i made double the glaze). We thought it tasted like orange and it looks beautiful too. definitely a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Well, I took everyone's advice and used orange extract and I'm not sure if that's what did it but I didn't think this was all that great. It wasn't bad but it is a bit too sweet and has a bitter undertone. Not a 5 star recipe and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARARNMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Totally delicious, a hint too sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This cake was Perfect! absolutley Splendiferous! I pretty much followed the exact recipe, lemon pudding and all...i think it might have been a leetle weird with vinilla...but anyway, my whole family LOVED it and gobbled it up! However i would give the "glaze" about three stars...i boiled it for 2 minutes as a reviewer suggested and let it cool completely but it never really got thick enough to stay on the cake...it just puddled around it. So i poked lots of teeny holes in the top with a toothpick and poured it over it again...The glaze Tasted great...it just made the cake look soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I actually made the creamy frosting recipe and added that as well! delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FernieEirk
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
this cake was moist and delicious, but the only problem is .... it tasted more lemony then orange??? other than that it was great :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernieEirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States