Orange Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner as a side dish/desert. It was a hit. Everyone sat around trying to guess what was in it. No one imagined that one of the ingredients was buttermilk. So easy to make. The family loved it and I will definitely make it again. The combinations of Jello and fruit are endless. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is really easy to make. I was looking for something different for Thanksgiving, so I used cranberry jello with the pineapple and added about 1/2 bag of marshmallows. It was really good! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
AWESOME. Had a party for 20--Everyone loved this dish! Our new favorite and standby! I added a large can of Mandarin oranges (drained)--superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
It was okay, I think I'll try adding marshmallows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is so yummy! I love how the buttermilk keeps the whole thing from being too sweet. It's creamy and light tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I really liked this jello salad! I had something just like it growing up at family functions and now I know how to make it myself. It was really good with sugar-fre strawberry jello and low-fat buttermilk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very tasty. I modified it. One package of sugar-free orange dissolved in about 1/3 cup of boiling water, add in 1 cup buttermilk. Mix in 1 large and 1 small can of drained mandarin oranges and half of a large container of large-curd cottage cheese. Set up very nicely in a square casserole dish. I will try pinapple/lime next. (I didn't reveal the buttermilk in the recipe until after my husband said he loved it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this exactly as written. Not spectacular, but very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It's simple, easy and delicious. I omitted the sugar and added chopped walnuts. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I make this often, only substituting two cans of drained mandarin oranges. I call it Creamsicle Salad. I always get requests for the recipe. My dad fell in love with it and started making it for friends and family gatherings and all the people who try it fight over the leftovers! EDITED LATER: Oh. And I forgot. I add a bag of mini marshmallows, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States