Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good but i forgot to buy an orange so I omitted the zest which would have made it much more orangey. Still a nice bread but i miss the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
One of my favorite bread recipes. I make it in my bread machine. Perfect for French toast. Have your fresh butter ready when this is done... you won't be able to resist a hot slice with the melted butter !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Malone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
On it's own: probably about 3 stars. This could be my fault as I assumed that in using fresh oranges for the zest, I should be using those oranges for the orange juice listed in the recipe. I think that (gasp) bottled orange juice would be better in this bread, as my loaf did not have any sweetness, very little orange color, and the zest left a somewhat bitter taste (yes, I was careful not to use the pith) very similar to a homemade orange marmalade. The bread does smell divine while baking, and is DELICIOUS as french toast the next morning. Also, sliced and toasted with butter and honey is definitely 5 star, so I've split the difference and given this unique recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made this in the evening to use for breakfast the next day. I liked this as French toast, but not sure I would want it any other way. I used two whole oranges and made juice out of them in the Blendtec - no water. I think this would make delicious orange-cinnamon rolls as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This bread was very easy to make, and almost raised the top of the bread machine when baking! :) Next time I will probably transfer into a loaf pan and bake in the oven to make it prettier...but just because it wasn't pretty doesn't mean it tasted anything less than great!! I followed the recipe, with the exception of using 1 cup Simply Juice OJ and 3 tsp. Penzey's minced orange peel (because I had no fresh oranges). I should have probably used more, but this was very refreshing and not a normal sandwich bread. The best part was that I followed previous reviewers' comments and used this to make french toast this morning and it was awesome! I will definitely be making this again. Tastes like a bakery bread, perfect to "show off" to your family or friends. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Wonderful bread. I love oranges and now I'll have a great recipe to use up my oranges from my orange tree in the back yard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I had too many oranges and decided to try this. It's a good bread--nice and light for breakfast, slightly sweet. I used 1-1/4 fresh squeezed OJ (and omitted 1/4 c water), and substituted one cup of wheat flour for one cup of bread flour. We'll make this again when we have extra oranges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Baked up nice and big. Very tasty and fluffy. I was hoping for a more "dense bread," but was not disappointed with these results. It just wasn't what I wanted at the time. Especially delicious toasted with a bit of butter and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I think this recipe has the potential to be better than it turned out for me. I think the problems I had with it were my own fault. I didn't have bread flour, and I wanted to make it healthier, so I used whole wheat flour and some all-purpose flour. I used 1 and 1/4 cups of orange juice, no hot water, as someone else recommended. I think that was a mistake, my loaf didn't rise, I think the hot water is essential to activating the yeast. The orange flavor was good though. My loaf wasn't all the way done either, I should have used the whole wheat bread setting, since I used wheat flour. If you follow this recipe exactly as outlined, it probably turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I've made this bread several times now. It is simply delicious. I substituted the hot water for orange juice (didn't warm it), and replaced the orange zest with a 4 oz. container of orange rind/peel. The orange rind really gives the bread a wonderful orange flavor and texture. This recipe is defiantly a keeper and is oh-so-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States