Orange Braised Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
i used the ingredients as a starter, but prepaired it in a slightly different manner....... my husband and 2 year old really like the flavor. definitely serve over rice and not noodles--but if you must serve over noodles like i did, fresh grated parmesan cheese sprinkled along with the chicken is surprisinly pleasing to the palate for any of you foodies out there like me : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Not a fan of this...texure was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Pretty good - lightly flavored chicken recipe. I hope I don't offend the photographer but PLEASE take that picture off, it looks like raw chicken and I almost passed this one up because of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Recipe as printed is very bland. It can be improved by increasing the sugar. Substitute Chicken stock for water. Reduce cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I'm not sure what I made here, but it was not very good. I do like similarly-named restaurant recipes, but this chicken's bourbon smell was overwhelming and the finished sauce was pungent yet tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I added the vinegar as stated below but I did the mistake of using the oranges with the skin on it which gave the chicken a bitter taste. Next time I'll try it without the skin and see how that works out. Still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This recipe sounded great but was absolutely flavorless. We expected more of an orange tang, but it was blah. Made it exactly as the recipe stated but substituted dried cranberries for the raisins--that actually added the only bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. I cooked it for my family this evening and they all loved (except my daughter who didn't like the texture of the chicken!). I loved it and will cook it again. I served the chicken with roasted baby potatoes (which had been tossed in olive oil, rock salt and a mixture of french herbs) and Savoy cabbage (which I shredded and cooked quickly in about 1/2 inch of water with a knob of butter) - Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Sorry, I found this recipe to be quite bland. Did add onion, mushroom, even garlic! The sauce had too much cornstarch, perhaps that was the problem. Maybe a simple reduction method would have been able to create a more disticntive taste. kwallace newport beach, Ca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Not very tasty. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States