Orange Blossom Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This would have been great if I was cooking for a kid's birthday party or something like that. Unfortunately, I prepared it for an adult dinner party. It reminded me of something that you would've found at the church social in the 60s. Pleasant but not for a sophisticated palate. I used OJ concentrate & orange zest but it still wasn't very orangey. I might use orange extract in the whipped cream if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've made this twice now and it's turned out excellently both times. Light and refreshing, a great dessert after a rich or heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
A nice change from the usual trifle I make. I layered it differently, cake, fruit and then the custard and decorated the top with chocolate curls. The custard really is the star of the show and I have plans to use it in other ways. Possibly in tart shells with fruit on top for Christmas. Thankyou for a lovely recipe ChefBeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
YUM! I think the key to this is the homemade custard stuff. Much better than pudding! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Delicious - I might make more of the custard next time. It was light and fluffy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I've made this trifle 4 times, now. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe! I use "not from concentrate" OJ and I also add about a teaspoon of orange zest to the egg mix. I have added dark chocolate which is also delicious. Once, I even found a chocolate angel food cake to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I wish that the recipe would specify that the Orange juice was concentrate, and not just juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Jacob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very good! I used 1/4 cup of orange juice concentrate - just the right amount of orange flavor. I also grated dark chocolate on both layers. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe but I made instant vanilla pudding and added orange extract to that, then added that into orange juice egg mixture. It disappeared in one day so I know it was well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This trifle was only O.K. I even added some chocolate in the recipe as some other readers recommended and it still wasn't anything anyone liked or asked for seconds. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States