Orange Blossom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used a homemade cinnamon graham crust and a large, very WELL drained can of mandarin oranges instead of fresh. I didn't stick mine in the freezer. Mine went right into the fridge until dinner, as others suggested. Very creamsicle-like, which is wonderful. NOTE: Want a firm pie, let it cool in the fridge for a bit before serving. I made mine in the morning and let it set until dinnertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great summer dessert. Perfect for a pot luck dinner or barbeque bash. It's fresh, tangy and light and quite easy to make. I like it with Nilla Wafers but I prefer to use Pepperidge Farm Chessman Cookies as they don't go mushy and are really pretty on the pie. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made a few small changes. I used mandarin oranges as suggested (large can), no zest and a graham cracker crust--it was what I had on hand. I also substituted 1 1/4 c. whipped cream for the 1 c. whipping cream. It cut down on time. It turned out quite nicely. I will probably be making this alot this summer. It tastes like an orange julius. Yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Okay, I did not actually get to eat a piece of this pie, because I made it for a church function. BUT, I did taste the "meringue" with a mandarin orange........YUM!!! Wow, this pie does taste like an orange julius. I followed the recipe to a "T" except I left out the zest and used large can (15 oz.) of mandarin oranges instead. If you use these, make sure you drain them WELL. Not just over the sink, but dump them on paper towels after that. The reason being you don't want the juice from the slivers to soak the pie crust. It would fall apart when you tried to cut it. Also, when cooking the egg/orange juice mixture over the stove, really do stir the entire time, because you have to watch carefully.....if you dont remove it at the right moment, it will be either too liquidy or you will end up with scrambled eggs. You could also save time and cost by using a storebought container of whipped cream instead of whipping it yourself........but I am partial to that "fresh" whipped taste. The presentation of this pie is awesome. Little mandarin oranges scattered across the top of the meringue, with a layer underneath you cannot see until you slice. I wish I could be at this function to hear peoples reviews, but I will definitely make this pie again for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Simple and yummy. My mom made it for Thanksgiving, and everyone liked it. She made a cornflake crust (I checked, and there is a recipe for such a crust on this web-site if anyone is interested) for it and it complimented it quit nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We love this recipe! We have made it several times, word for word followng the recipe, and it always comes out great! The key to not getting a runny pie is DO NOT FREEZE! As I said, we have made it several times, and it was always a perfect consistency, creamy and fully set. We always chilled it in the refrigerator. The last time I made it, it was last minute to bring to a cook-out. I was worried about the timing and being outside, so I froze it for a couple of hours before going. By the time dessert came around, it had thawed, and it was very runny. It was the only time I froze it, and the only time it came out runny. So, I think the key is, chill either to room temperature or in the fridge. An experienced cook at the bbq told me that dairy breaks down when frozen, so that's probably what happened, it is probably a problem with the cream. We've also tried a few variations that worked out really well - sub lemonade for oj and fresh raspberries for orange slices for raspberry lemonade smoothie pie, or mango puree for oj and any tropical fruit (bananas, mango slices, or stick with oranges) for fresh fruit garnish. I'm making one for a start-of-summer pot-luck at the office tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I experimented with this recipe. Made it as per recipe. Like others I thought it could have more body. So I played with it a little. Found that if you added 1/2 small package sugar free jello to cooked mixture and the other half to the heavy cream and I used 2 cups heavy cream instead found it to be alot in crust but , when I make pie.... I want Pie not a tease of sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this pie for a pot luck at my mom's last week. It was a huge hit. After reading all the reviews I made the following changes I used a home made graham cracker crust. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch disolved in about 1/4 cup of water to the mixture on the stove to be sure everything thickened well and did not turn runny when it came out of the refridgerator. Because I was a little short on time, I used Cool Whip instead of whipping fresh cream. I used orange slices fresh from the tree on top with ribbons of zest. It was a beautiful pie and was eaten up quickly. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I messed the topping up the first time. I didn't read the instructions properly and put the butter in the pan with the orange juice, sugar and eggs so had to start again as it didn't thicken properly. I used mandarin oranges and a digestive biscuit crust (I'm English and wasn't sure what was meant by vanilla wafers). The only reason this isn't a five star is because I felt it lost something in presentation when it was cut it didn't sit in a firm slice the topping oozed all over the dish although that might be something I did. Great taste though my guests loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by olgaS
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I added 2 teaspoons of orange gelatin to pie filling to make sure it will not run. I blended filling after i added butter to it and it gave it smooth texture,before it was kind of grainy. I used wheeped topping insted of heavy cream.overall very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States