Orange Blossom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made a few small changes. I used mandarin oranges as suggested (large can), no zest and a graham cracker crust--it was what I had on hand. I also substituted 1 1/4 c. whipped cream for the 1 c. whipping cream. It cut down on time. It turned out quite nicely. I will probably be making this alot this summer. It tastes like an orange julius. Yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Okay, I did not actually get to eat a piece of this pie, because I made it for a church function. BUT, I did taste the "meringue" with a mandarin orange........YUM!!! Wow, this pie does taste like an orange julius. I followed the recipe to a "T" except I left out the zest and used large can (15 oz.) of mandarin oranges instead. If you use these, make sure you drain them WELL. Not just over the sink, but dump them on paper towels after that. The reason being you don't want the juice from the slivers to soak the pie crust. It would fall apart when you tried to cut it. Also, when cooking the egg/orange juice mixture over the stove, really do stir the entire time, because you have to watch carefully.....if you dont remove it at the right moment, it will be either too liquidy or you will end up with scrambled eggs. You could also save time and cost by using a storebought container of whipped cream instead of whipping it yourself........but I am partial to that "fresh" whipped taste. The presentation of this pie is awesome. Little mandarin oranges scattered across the top of the meringue, with a layer underneath you cannot see until you slice. I wish I could be at this function to hear peoples reviews, but I will definitely make this pie again for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Simple and yummy. My mom made it for Thanksgiving, and everyone liked it. She made a cornflake crust (I checked, and there is a recipe for such a crust on this web-site if anyone is interested) for it and it complimented it quit nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I messed the topping up the first time. I didn't read the instructions properly and put the butter in the pan with the orange juice, sugar and eggs so had to start again as it didn't thicken properly. I used mandarin oranges and a digestive biscuit crust (I'm English and wasn't sure what was meant by vanilla wafers). The only reason this isn't a five star is because I felt it lost something in presentation when it was cut it didn't sit in a firm slice the topping oozed all over the dish although that might be something I did. Great taste though my guests loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
The flavor of this recipe is very good, and because of this I regret rating it only at 3 stars, but I had the same problem as Kez. The filling seemed soft so I placed the pie in the freezer and it firmed a little but by the time everyone served themselves (a potluck) and placed their slices on their plates, the slice collapsed into a pool of filling. Maybe someone can suggest a variation?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I would give this 5 stars for taste, but like all the others, mine ended up a runny mess so I give it a 3 overall. I chilled this for 8 hours, then folded in the whipped cream and let it chill over night and it was still ran all over when I cut it. I think I will add a sheet or two of gelatin to the base mixture or perhaps use some cornstarch to thicken up the egg mixture and give it more body next time. It has potential but it's really missing something to keep it from running. In the meantime, instead of serving as a pie, I layered put it into cups and served it as more of a trifle than a pie. It worked great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I used mandarin oranges and had no problem with the pie being runny. I did make it the day before, so it was in the fridge about 18 hrs. Everyone who tried it said it was good , hubby really liked but I thought it needed something. I also used crushed vanilla wafers, butter and sugar for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
It tastes really good, but it's far too runny, and really doesn't present well. I was going to use it for a potluck, but I think I'll feed it to the boy and choose a different recipe and make it last minute. It's just not very table-presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very unique and refreshing, though rich. Doesn't travel well, and may be better served nearly frozen. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IndianaAnna
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This pie turned out creamy, light, and delicious with just a few changes I have listed below. When made correctly, the filling should be thick enough right away when you finish making it. I will make this pie again! Here are my changes: I only used 2 eggs because 3 eggs seemed like a lot. I used the juice and zest from an entire navel orange. That is about 1 tbsp. zest and 1/2 cup juice. I added a tablespoon of flour to the mixture that I heated on the stove so that it would thicken really well. I cooked and stirred, cooked and stirred until the mixture was very thick, added the butter, and then chilled that mixture for about an hour. I used a Pillsbury pie crust instead of the type listed in the recipe because I have a lot of them in my freezer. I used mandarin orange segments, well drained for the bottom. For the whipped cream, I whipped it to stiff peaks and added some vanilla and honey for additional sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndianaAnna
Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States