Orange Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Someone asked about cracking - here's the secret for all biscotti. When you take them out of the oven the first time, cover with a damp towel while they cool. They'll slice perfeclty without crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathynyny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was very easy to make. I used fresh orange juice in place of the liqueur and they were wonderful. I would cut back on the almonds a bit for my own personal taste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I make this recipe all the time, it is so easy and tastes so good. I leave out the almonds though and use 2 teaspoons orange oil instead of the zest and liqueor. Then because of the oil I cook 10 minutes longer. And of course, because I love chocolate I dip these halfway in melted chocolate and cool on set on wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
These are crispy and delicious. We love the orange flavor, so if I have orange oil available, I'll use 2-3t of the oil in place of the orange.In place of chopped toasted almonds, try toasted sliced almonds.I think it gives more of a nutty flavor than the small bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
These are very good. I used orange juice in place of the liqueur and added a tsp of orange extract. I doubled the recipe. I reserved some of the almonds to sprinkle on the top of the loaves before baking. Next time I will cut back on the cinnamon to about half - personal preference. I formed the dough on the cookie sheet which was covered by foil - much easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made these and they were so good! I love these!! I made the recipe exactly and once they cooled I dipped them in white chocolate.. I will be making these again, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My mom cannot eat sugar so I made some major changes to the original recipe, plus I thought I'd add somethings of my own to it. Here's what I changed: 3/4 cups white sugar became: 3/4 cups splenda 1 orange zested became: 1 orange zested and juiced 2 tbs orange liquor became: 2 tbs dark rum I mixed everything the same, creamed the butter with the splenda and mixed the orange juice, zest, and rum in with the splenda, butter, and cinnamon. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly. I am quite pleased with the result, and my parents liked it a lot too. I thought this was a great recipe and I enjoyed playing around making it, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TK Bunnies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made these biscotti last night and they were pretty good.....i melted the butter instead of creaming it with the sugar....i used one tbl of zest and 2 tbl of the juice from the orange....didnt use nuts as allergy....next time i would use more zest and more juice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This biscotti was just ok. I didn't find the flavor was all that great, and the texture wasn't the greatest either. But they weren't a complete flop - I've just made better ones before so this was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
An excellent and easy recipe to make. Like someone else suggested, I substituted the orange liquor with some fresh orange juice and finished it off with an orange icing glaze. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States