Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Great consistency - just the type of sauce I was looking for. Forgot sugar and soy sauce was salty - made meal very salty. Use a soy sauce with reduced sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymlovr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I dipped the tofu in egg and then coated with cornstarch, I love tofu cooked this way. I also used frozen stir fry veggies. And doubled the sauce to pour over rice. I will probably make again and add some orange zest and real orange juice next time. UPDATE: I tried again with some orange jest and it is still missing something. I am going to try some different recipes for orange sauce and cook with tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good, although I didn't have chilli paste, so I used chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wow. I had never prepared tofu coated in cornstarch so this was a real treat. Very meat-like texture (I did use tofu that had been frozen so perhaps that even added more). "Yes!" to doubling the sauce- I used snap peas and threw in some peanuts for extra flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great sauce recipe! And the tofu turned out well. I agree with the reviewer who said not to skimp on the cornstarch coating. HOWEVER, I have made this dish twice now and have had better luck thickening the sauce in a separate pan than trying to thicken it in the veg pan as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Photo by Cali Bee
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Overall a great recipe. However, I made some modifications: 1) seasoned tofu w/ soy sauce and garlic salt before coating in cornstarch; 2) also added sugar peas, minced garlic, and onions to carrots; 3) used Sriracha instead of chili paste; 4) added some salt at the end. Seasoning the tofu before cornstarch coating made it more tasty and not bland. I will probably use soy paste in sauce next time instead of soy sauce in sauce mix b/c my sauce actually came out more watery than I liked. I also added sesame seeds at the end (see pic). But, easy recipe to work with and great orange flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really liked how crispy and restaurant-like the tofu came out. Doubled the sauce just because we like things extra saucy and added some extra veggies. Served over jasmine rice. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Wonderful!! Even my husband who hates tofu liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was fabulous! My husband and I hadn't cooked tofu at home until recently and this was one that we will keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This sauce is great and we really liked how crunchy the tofu stays when you don't mix it back into the stir-fry. We added a little fresh grated ginger to the sauce and used Sriracha for the chili paste. We also amped up the veggie content by adding a fresh mix of broccoli, snow peas, and yellow peppers. Like other reviewers we also doubled the sauce and just barely had enough for 3 hearty portions. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pyrofemme

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States