Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very enjoyable. I was worried that the sauce would be too watery but it thickened up to my satisfaction and rice picked up the flavorful orange sauce well. The suggestion of green peppers and pineapples was perfect. Here is a healthy alternative to deep frying the tofu. After you drain, rinse and cube the tofu, cook it on medium in a frying pan (or wok) with a light coating of non-stick cooking spray until it is golden brown on all sides. Then add the sauce and veggies. This treatment will give it a crispy texture without adding fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
EXCELLENT! Made this for me and vegan friends also served to omnivores who loved this! Excellent with cocunut rice. I froze my tofu overnight and then breaded it in cornstarch before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This turned out fantastic - restaurant quality! Recommend adding bell peppers and pineapple for some additional color, taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grim Meeper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. I had trouble browning the tofu dipped in cornstarch, so I started again, just browning the tofu itself (I did include the cornstarch in the sauce). I used pre-grated carrots, so this dish was ready quickly. I served it over rice. My vegetarian and my non-vegetarian children absolutely loved it -- there were no left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made some mods to this recipe for it to be more healthy and still yummy. First I stirfried a bunch of veggies, I used zucchini, broccoli, red/green pepper, onion, garlic, mushrooms. Then I added in the strips of tofu (skipped the corn starching step, just threw it in plain) and stir fried that in with a splash of soy sauce and spoon of chili garlic sauce and salt and pep to taste. In a separate pot I made the orange sauce, I did NOT add in sugar however I did add in a 3 caps of white vinegar. I also mixed the cornstarch in the warm water and added it in to oj/soy sauce/vinegar mixture when it came to a boil. After adding in the cornstarch I let the sauce simmer for a couple of minutes and then I added it to the tofu and veggies. Served with some brown rice this was an relatively easy and healthy dinner, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I make this quite a bit, one of the better recipes I have found for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this one twice so far. Easy to make, and the combination of sweet, savory and the zing of the chili makes this a good dish. Make sure to press the tofu first and to cook it until it's crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I was skeptical all the way to the table on this meal, but it was absolutely DELICIOUS. Even my SUPER picky 3 year old cleaned her plate! I would recommend, as many others did, to double the recipe... and I'm going to add green bell pepper and cashew nuts next time I make this.. yuuuummmmyyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Very good! More time-intensive than I would have liked, but well worth it. My daughter said, "it tastes just like in the restaurant, Mom!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pineappleblonde
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great! I loved it! Only next time I won't use as much chili paste, kinda spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pineappleblonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States