Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made some mods to this recipe for it to be more healthy and still yummy. First I stirfried a bunch of veggies, I used zucchini, broccoli, red/green pepper, onion, garlic, mushrooms. Then I added in the strips of tofu (skipped the corn starching step, just threw it in plain) and stir fried that in with a splash of soy sauce and spoon of chili garlic sauce and salt and pep to taste. In a separate pot I made the orange sauce, I did NOT add in sugar however I did add in a 3 caps of white vinegar. I also mixed the cornstarch in the warm water and added it in to oj/soy sauce/vinegar mixture when it came to a boil. After adding in the cornstarch I let the sauce simmer for a couple of minutes and then I added it to the tofu and veggies. Served with some brown rice this was an relatively easy and healthy dinner, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is sure to please even tofu skeptics. It's very good, but not great. The cooking time is a little off. My tofu slices were about a 1/2 inch thick, and with a standard wok, it took at least 20 - 25 minutes to fry it all. The sauce took me about 20 minuts to make as well. I added chopped red pepper, which added additional crunch, color and sweetness. Since I didn't have chili paste, I used a tablespoon of sweet chili sauce. I also added 2 dried diced red chili peppers, since other reviewers said the sauce wasn't spicy enough, but it was too HOT, so next time I'll just use one. I used about double the corn starch, since I like the sauce thicker. In addition, I would definitely recommend doubling the sauce, because it is not enough to cover all of the tofu plus rice noodles. I would recommend not putting the tofu back into the wok. If you just place tofu slices on top of the rice noodles and spoon the sauce over the top, the tofu stays nice and crunchy. Finally, I served this with some fresh pineapple on the side, which really complemented the dish quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
THis was absolutely delicous! Dont skimp on the cornstarch used to batter the tofu slices. You may need a little more than 1/4 cup. Make sure tofu is not dripping wet when you batter it or it will turn the cornstarch from a powder into liquid. My supermarket did not have chili paste so I used tobasco saude and a little chili powder. Next time I will use the chili paste, gotta go to the oriental market to get that. I recommend that you split the tofu into 2 portions and then fry them one section at a time. This makes it much easier to manage turning the tofu over to brown on both sides. Took me about 10 minutes per side. I used fresh mushrooms and brocoli instead of the carrots. I think you can use any vegetable you want, just eye ball the right amount volume wise which is easy to do once you see the amount of sauce. Defiantely double the amount of sauce. Yumskers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was absolutely incredible! It is now a staple. My only changes were: added one chopped green pepper, and I froze the tofu for about 3 days (it seems to give it a 'meatier' texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This orange sauce was delicious! I substituted Sriracha hot sauce for the chili paste and used different veggies. The only change I will make next time is to add more cornstarch to the sauce as I like a thicker sauce. Also, if you like your tofu crunch, you might want to serve the sauce on the side. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I loved this sauce! I doubled the sauce though, and made the following changes: I omitted the tofu completely and cooked with chicken instead. I also added onions, garlic, and sweet red peppers. Instead of chili paste, I chopped a chili pepper and fried it up with the rest of the veggies. Beautiful flavour! I used shaghai noodles which really brought out the flavour. So even though I changed the recipe around a bit, it was fantastic and I give it 5 stars for the sauce and the adaptability. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I did what other reviewers suggested, made extra sauce and added more veggies. Addictive! Very easy and truly delicious. I used orange juice concentrate for more orange flavour, 1/2 can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
My family has the tofu lovers and haters, but this recipe was so fabulous, everyone loved it! I highly recommend this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My husband and I were not fans of this recipe. To me the tofu was like having chunks of belgian waffles in the stir fry... we picked it out and ate the rest, which was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pineappleblonde
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great! I loved it! Only next time I won't use as much chili paste, kinda spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pineappleblonde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States