Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very good. Could use some extra vegetables and mushrooms. The key is browning the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
wow... it was awsome. I put sweet and sour sauce on mine the only thing i did different was put some chopped bell peppers in it. Added more varity, in my opinion. thanks from me and my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I enjoyed this very much. My husband is not a big fan of tofu-but he even had seconds! I did steam the veggies first-yellow squash, asperagus, celery, peper, carrots and broccoli. I also doubled the sauce and did omit 1 tbl of soy and added 1tbl of Scheswan sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is now our favorite way to make tofu. I do make a few small changes. 1. I cube the tofu 2. I add seasoning to the cornstarch I use to coat the tofu, garlic salt, onion powder, black pepper, and a little california red chili pepper. 3. I double the sauce, otherwise there just doesn't seem to be enough to go around. Also, I mix in the fried tofu at the very end after the sauce is cooked. I just dump it in and toss it once or twice to cover and them serve immediately, it doesn't get soggy for me. I also fry them for what seems like a very long time and the outside coating is very hard so maybe that will help with the sogginess issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I thought this was delicious. Although the first time the sauce wasn't to my taste, but the second time I used less soy sauce and loved it. Also, I would recommend tempura for the tofu rather than cornstarch. Either way, staying in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
As Willy Wonka (Jonny Depp version) said, "Ew." Not at all pleasant, the tofu was just crispy, but softening in the sauce ...tofu -no taste about it! My hubby said, "crunchy, chewy water-flavored Chinese food. Please don't make this again." I spent well over 25 mins prepping to have to tell the kids to "eat up, Puh-leez?" and only end up tossing 3/4 of it. Ho hum. The sauce was good on the carrots though, which gives this one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! One of the best vegetarian/tofu dishes I have ever had. I added a clove of garlic when stir frying the veggies, and just used broccoli instead of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The sauce for this recipe is AWESOME! However, using just plain corn starch to coat the tofu is not very good. I would highly recommend using tempura batter. You can buy it at any asian market, and it comes in powder form (just add water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDECAHOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
this recipe is fantastic...esp. for beginning vegetarians...i've made it at least a dozen times & sometimes vary the veggies & also add a little cranberry pomegranate juice to the sauce...delicious! thanks jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candykydfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I don't think the amount of corn starch was right. The sauce was rather thin. The flavor was okay but not very strong and any one of the ingredients (chili paste or soy sauce) would have been better with the tofu and veggies than the group mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States