Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by BalancingLife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Delicious. Everything was perfect. I added pork and this was great for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought this was pretty tasty even my carnivore hubby liked it a lot. I too made a few changes. 1. Sauteed firm tofu instead of frying and next time I'll leave the cornstarch off the tofu as well. 2. Added garlic and ginger to the tofu 3. I was horrified to see that I had run out of soy sauce half way through making the sauce so I used garlic hoisin sauce instead, it was yummy. 4. Used carrots, snap peas, onion & green pepper for veggies. 5. Added 1/8 teaspoon Sriracha hot sauce for a little heat by the way, this recipe only feeds about 2-3 adults with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very good. Could use some extra vegetables and mushrooms. The key is browning the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
wow... it was awsome. I put sweet and sour sauce on mine the only thing i did different was put some chopped bell peppers in it. Added more varity, in my opinion. thanks from me and my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I enjoyed this very much. My husband is not a big fan of tofu-but he even had seconds! I did steam the veggies first-yellow squash, asperagus, celery, peper, carrots and broccoli. I also doubled the sauce and did omit 1 tbl of soy and added 1tbl of Scheswan sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is now our favorite way to make tofu. I do make a few small changes. 1. I cube the tofu 2. I add seasoning to the cornstarch I use to coat the tofu, garlic salt, onion powder, black pepper, and a little california red chili pepper. 3. I double the sauce, otherwise there just doesn't seem to be enough to go around. Also, I mix in the fried tofu at the very end after the sauce is cooked. I just dump it in and toss it once or twice to cover and them serve immediately, it doesn't get soggy for me. I also fry them for what seems like a very long time and the outside coating is very hard so maybe that will help with the sogginess issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I thought this was delicious. Although the first time the sauce wasn't to my taste, but the second time I used less soy sauce and loved it. Also, I would recommend tempura for the tofu rather than cornstarch. Either way, staying in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
As Willy Wonka (Jonny Depp version) said, "Ew." Not at all pleasant, the tofu was just crispy, but softening in the sauce ...tofu -no taste about it! My hubby said, "crunchy, chewy water-flavored Chinese food. Please don't make this again." I spent well over 25 mins prepping to have to tell the kids to "eat up, Puh-leez?" and only end up tossing 3/4 of it. Ho hum. The sauce was good on the carrots though, which gives this one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! One of the best vegetarian/tofu dishes I have ever had. I added a clove of garlic when stir frying the veggies, and just used broccoli instead of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The sauce for this recipe is AWESOME! However, using just plain corn starch to coat the tofu is not very good. I would highly recommend using tempura batter. You can buy it at any asian market, and it comes in powder form (just add water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDECAHOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States