Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. I've made it several times. Definitely double the sauce. I like to add lots of veggies, whatever I have on hand. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Yummy! I was surprised at the wonderful texture of the tofu. The only changes I made were to use orange concentrate from frozen instead of reg. oj and asian chili garlic sauce as opposed to reg. chili sauce. Everyone loved it, including the kids. This one's def. going in my 'to make again' file..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was great! I made it almost exactly how the recipe said. I chose to add extra veggies (broccoli and peapods) and to add some seasonings to the cornstarch coating. I added garlic salt, pepper and powdered ginger. I sliced my tofu about 1/4 inch thick and about 1 inch square. I froze my tofu for only about 20 minutes but that added a nice chewiness. I didn't have a wok so I removed my veggies before adding the sauce to keep them from boiling in the skillet. I added a little extra cornstarch to the sauce and it came out like a glaze, which was perfect. The whole dish turned out wonderfully. The tofu had a really interesting texture - not soggy at all. To be honest, I sampled my fried and drained tofu before adding it back to the veggies and sauce. It was delicious on its own! The seasonings and crispiness reminded me of fried fish - something I haven't had since I became a vegetarian. I will prepare tofu like this in the future for a nugget like meal. This orange sauce would be terrific for dipping. All in all, a great recipe...a little bit more work than it seems at first, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We've used the recipe many times with different variations of the sauce - the crunchy tofu works well with stir-fry veggies and either rice or egg noodles. We have experimented with teriaki, orange, soy and any number of other seasonings to create different dishes - great dish with potential for a lot of variation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeraly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was very good, I didn't have tofu so I used shrimp and it still came out wonderfully. Would like to try with tofu next time though, I don't think shrimp absorb the flavor as much as tofu would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I couldn't believe how tasty the orange sauce is! I'll need to experiment more with dusting the tofu because I overdid it with the cornstarch. Even so, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is delicious!! I also added in other veggies, like broccoli and snow peas, which made this a hearty meal with plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BalancingLife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Delicious. Everything was perfect. I added pork and this was great for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought this was pretty tasty even my carnivore hubby liked it a lot. I too made a few changes. 1. Sauteed firm tofu instead of frying and next time I'll leave the cornstarch off the tofu as well. 2. Added garlic and ginger to the tofu 3. I was horrified to see that I had run out of soy sauce half way through making the sauce so I used garlic hoisin sauce instead, it was yummy. 4. Used carrots, snap peas, onion & green pepper for veggies. 5. Added 1/8 teaspoon Sriracha hot sauce for a little heat by the way, this recipe only feeds about 2-3 adults with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very good. Could use some extra vegetables and mushrooms. The key is browning the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States