Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I followed the other reviewers' advice and cooked the sauce in a small saucepan and simply poured it over the rice, tofu and carrots. I also used a bit more cornstarch and used Sriracha hot sauce to taste instead of chile paste. I thought the recipe turned out deliciously, but my fiance didn't like it because he thought it was too orangey. So if you love citrus flavors, make this recipe, but if you don't, steer clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have to admit that I was a little nervous about the recipe because I had never cooked tofu before. But it turn out great, although I did modify it a bite I used cube tofu as that was all I could find at the store and I add some onions, green bell peppers for extra crunch. I increased the soy sauce and used sesame seed oil in place of the vegetable oil, as was recommended by other reviewers. Although for me it was a little spicy so next time I will halve the chill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
We loved this! It was a bit too spicy for my 3 yr-old, but my husband and I couldn't get enough! We added pea pods and peas to the carrots - we'll lose the peas next time. Also, next time I might add a bit less of the chili paste and add some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Lovded this!Am making it for the third time today. I'm using broccoli, garlic, mushrooms, zucchini, and onion for the veggies today. Do double the sauce when you make it. Be careful with the chili paste; it IS very spicy. I used less last time and the family liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I prepared the dish is good and the flavor is different, with rice it´s good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Good texture and sauce. I added a green pepper, and am saving to eat over the next few days. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great substitute for an orange chicken/beef recipe. Just know what you're getting into; some people don't like the blend of citrus and salt, but me and my wife love it. I cut down on the carrots and added mushrooms and green onions and it was delicious. The two of us dusted of the entire thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by O Side Doughboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
excellent with brocolli and red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
One of my favorite recipes on this site so far. The sauce is scrumptious. I want to eat it over icecream! Perfection. I always double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sis.e.bare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This recipe is quick and delicious! Instead of vegetable oil, i used sesame oil. It gives it a great flavor. A tip on preparing the tofu: drain it well, and place on paper towels, press with a heavy weight to get out as much of the moisture as possible. Then cook. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Bayless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States