Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by NY Veggie
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It excellent! next time though, i won't fry the tofu but just add it with the sauce because the flavor is so wonderful that the oil used in frying adds nothing to the flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Great flavor! Next time I am going to add more veggies and double up on the sauce. I was really impressed at how yummy the fried tofu was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I strongly disliked the fried tofu in this recipe. The rest of the recipe was okay, and I might have liked it with additional veggies substituted for the tofu, but the tofu overwhelmed everything. I don't dislike tofu in general, so I'd say the cooking method was the problem. I would give this a one-star rating based on my personal opinion, but my family seemed to find it more edible than I did, so I'm giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I really liked this. I added other veggies, and next time I will add onions - but still great, and not very difficult. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Awesome!! i added pea pods and fresh green beans and diced onions to the mix and i put it on top of brown rice instead of noodles. the tofu took longer than 5 mins to cook. more like 15. i used chili sauce instead of paste too. i thought it was very good, i will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Made this almost identical to the recipe, although I had some trouble with it taking way longer than I planned, but that may be because I didn't have a wok. I used a large nonstick skillet. I also had a little trouble with my carrots (gigantic Japanese carrots) because I sliced them into the normal circles instead of shredding them like I probably should have. So they didn't get tender enough. If I had the correct items, it would have definitely been perfect. I didn't feel like it was saucy enough, so we added some to the final dish. But this was definitely great, we just needed to tweak it a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was fantastic. I printed it out almost two weeks ago, and finally made it tonight. It was brilliant. Just two things, I wished I had followed the advice posted here on doubling the sauce, and I drained, froze over night, thawed and drained the tofu before making it. It took maybe 10 minutes to fry, and about 5 to coat in sauce. All in all though super easy, and very well liked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was fantastic. I think this might have been the best tofu recipe I've come across, though I did make some changes. I subbed sesame oil for the vegetable oil, added green peppers and water chestnuts, made extra sauce (though not quite double), and did NOT mix the tofu in. The sauce was a little thin for my taste - next time I might reduce the water and add a little more cornstarch. I'm not sure why people are complaining that it takes a long time to fry the tofu, although I suspect that they aren't pressing it. I fried it all in two batches and it took 10 minutes. Overall...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was ok. Nothing phenomenal. The sauce was pretty basic in taste. There wasn't a lot of flavor. You definitely need to double (or triple) the sauce and vegetables to go with all that tofu (we cut it into thin strips). It takes at least an hour to make with all the frying of the tofu and prep. We added celery and red peppers. We'll make it again, but it's not in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I followed the other reviewers' advice and cooked the sauce in a small saucepan and simply poured it over the rice, tofu and carrots. I also used a bit more cornstarch and used Sriracha hot sauce to taste instead of chile paste. I thought the recipe turned out deliciously, but my fiance didn't like it because he thought it was too orangey. So if you love citrus flavors, make this recipe, but if you don't, steer clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States