Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is craveably good and I cannot wait to make it again. My two children inhaled it and went back for seconds (they are five and two years old). The only change I made was to leave out the chili sauce and add snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The family loved this especially the carnivores. I doubled it (the portions are conservative BTW). I added some bok choi and green peppers. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil (because I prefer it). I also used extra firm and "pressed" the tofu by sticking the unwrapped/drained tofu between 2 glass baking dishes and sticking my iron skillet on top to weigh it down for 30m and then froze overnight then defrosting in the morning (leave it out and if not thawed do about 3-4 min each side at 40% power in a 1200w microwave). That gives it an even "meatier" texture. One thing to note is that more oil than average is actually absorbed (and ve so you may find that the fat estimate below is probably a bit conservative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
A great base orange sauce! Needs a bit more soy sauce, but very tasty. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was good- not as orangey as I thought it would be. I would have it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I used snap peas, red bell peppers, and carrots fot the veggies. I also used a dash of sesame seeds as garnish. Other wise, made the recipe as is. It was delish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I gave it just 4 stars, though I made adjustments thanks to other reviews and liked it 5 stars' worth. We were low on veggies, but I did add some green onions and a small leek. I sliced them lengthwise, then across and made matchsticks of the carrots. I also mixed a tbsp of thai orange sauce (from a jar) with a tbsp of soy sauce, added lots of fresh-squeezed orange juice, a little rice vinegar, a 1/4 tsp of blazing hot thai chili in oil (also from a jar). and a generous tsp or so of sesame oil. I sprinkled white and black sesame seeds over all before serving. It was delicious and I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I was expecting the sauce to taste like real orange chicken and was disappointed in the flavor of the sauce. I even doubled the sauce to add vegetables. It was eatable but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the tofu differently, so I'm not reviewing that, but the orange sauce is killer, even though I had to leave out the chili paste! I used fresh orange juice, and didn't have any trouble with bitterness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I put in more veggies which I think it needs. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! I had some modifications that I felt improved it though (although I felt that it's an excellent recipe as-is). I reduced the quantity of sugar significantly (I think I'll cut the sugar out entirely next time I make it) since the Orange Juice I used was sweet enough. Additionally, I added a few splashes of rice vinegar to the sauce and it really made the flavor of the sauce sing. Lastly, I used red pepper flakes (and lots of them) instead of chili paste and stirfried vegetables with the dish (Trader Joe's Harvest Medley works wonderfully with this recipe). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States