Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
My family has the tofu lovers and haters, but this recipe was so fabulous, everyone loved it! I highly recommend this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This orange sauce was delicious! I substituted Sriracha hot sauce for the chili paste and used different veggies. The only change I will make next time is to add more cornstarch to the sauce as I like a thicker sauce. Also, if you like your tofu crunch, you might want to serve the sauce on the side. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was pretty good. I wasn't sure how thin to make my tofu "strips", so mine may have been thicker than they should have been. It took more than 5 mins. of stirfrying to get the tofu brown and crisp, and the strips broke apart a bit. Overall, it was a good recipe, and I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
One of the best tofu recipes I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This recipe also works great when you substitute vegetarian "steak" strips for the tofu ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe is delicious, only the sauce was so good, you need to make more of it! ...Especially if you are adding more vegetables--celery is a nice complement to the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was okay. It did not have the flavor I was looking for. We ate it, but we were not excited by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
The method for frying the tofu turned out really well. However, I had to use closer to 1/2 cup oil because I batch-fried the tofu, as it is hard to cook an entire block of tofu quickly by dumping it into the wok all at once. I agree with the last reviewer in that the sauce was not quite to my taste. It was a little more bitter than I expected, but not nearly hot enough for me. I will try this again, but probably with less soy sauce and more chile paste. I might also subsitute red pepper flakes for the chile paste. Other than that, it smells and looks great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Really good, it makes alot of tofu but is really tasty and filling. Definitely a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wolf Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is sure to please even tofu skeptics. It's very good, but not great. The cooking time is a little off. My tofu slices were about a 1/2 inch thick, and with a standard wok, it took at least 20 - 25 minutes to fry it all. The sauce took me about 20 minuts to make as well. I added chopped red pepper, which added additional crunch, color and sweetness. Since I didn't have chili paste, I used a tablespoon of sweet chili sauce. I also added 2 dried diced red chili peppers, since other reviewers said the sauce wasn't spicy enough, but it was too HOT, so next time I'll just use one. I used about double the corn starch, since I like the sauce thicker. In addition, I would definitely recommend doubling the sauce, because it is not enough to cover all of the tofu plus rice noodles. I would recommend not putting the tofu back into the wok. If you just place tofu slices on top of the rice noodles and spoon the sauce over the top, the tofu stays nice and crunchy. Finally, I served this with some fresh pineapple on the side, which really complemented the dish quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States