Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Just OK. I love tofu, but not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Great consistency - just the type of sauce I was looking for. Forgot sugar and soy sauce was salty - made meal very salty. Use a soy sauce with reduced sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymlovr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I dipped the tofu in egg and then coated with cornstarch, I love tofu cooked this way. I also used frozen stir fry veggies. And doubled the sauce to pour over rice. I will probably make again and add some orange zest and real orange juice next time. UPDATE: I tried again with some orange jest and it is still missing something. I am going to try some different recipes for orange sauce and cook with tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good, although I didn't have chilli paste, so I used chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wow. I had never prepared tofu coated in cornstarch so this was a real treat. Very meat-like texture (I did use tofu that had been frozen so perhaps that even added more). "Yes!" to doubling the sauce- I used snap peas and threw in some peanuts for extra flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great sauce recipe! And the tofu turned out well. I agree with the reviewer who said not to skimp on the cornstarch coating. HOWEVER, I have made this dish twice now and have had better luck thickening the sauce in a separate pan than trying to thicken it in the veg pan as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Photo by Cali Bee
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Overall a great recipe. However, I made some modifications: 1) seasoned tofu w/ soy sauce and garlic salt before coating in cornstarch; 2) also added sugar peas, minced garlic, and onions to carrots; 3) used Sriracha instead of chili paste; 4) added some salt at the end. Seasoning the tofu before cornstarch coating made it more tasty and not bland. I will probably use soy paste in sauce next time instead of soy sauce in sauce mix b/c my sauce actually came out more watery than I liked. I also added sesame seeds at the end (see pic). But, easy recipe to work with and great orange flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really liked how crispy and restaurant-like the tofu came out. Doubled the sauce just because we like things extra saucy and added some extra veggies. Served over jasmine rice. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Wonderful!! Even my husband who hates tofu liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was fabulous! My husband and I hadn't cooked tofu at home until recently and this was one that we will keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States