Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The sauce was delicious! This was my first attempt at eating and cooking tofu. It wasn't too bad. My carnivore husband seemed to like it more than I did. I made it as is except I used chili and garlic sauce b/c I didn't have paste. Plus, I added tons of veges (green beans, carrots, mushrooms, and broccoli) and doubled the sauce. I will make again and will probably use the sauce with pork or chicken stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I really like this recipe, although frying the tofu in oil kind of defeats the purpose of eating tofu at all. I have tried to broil the tofu after dipping the pieces in olive oil instead of frying it and it comes out crispy enough. I always more vegetables like mushrooms and peppers and double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was not impressed by this recipe. We both felt it was a bit too hot, and I felt it was too much orange taste (my husband did not mind the orange taste, but felt it was also too spicy). I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe sauce needs a little modification to much orange juice in my opinion. Added 3 large garlic cloves, handful of mushrooms, green pepper, bean sprouts, onion, chopped asparagus, and green onion laid in on a bed of brown rice. Absolutely delicious. I also recommend adding a little onion powder or garlic salt to the cornstarch before dipping the tofu. Tofu takes on what ever flavors it is cooked in and just tasted of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
great sauce! added green beans and red bell pepper, baked the tofu instead of frying it, and served over noodles. next time i will do rice. Very good! my meat eating husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was so delicious and easy to make. I couldn't find a 16 ounce package of tofu so I used a 14 ounce package. I didn't have any chili paste so I used a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes instead. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of toasted seasme oil to the sauce. I don't have a wok so I just used a large skillet. This was one of the best tofu dishes i've ever had, my brother who usually hates tofu even liked it. I served this on a bed of brown rice and topped it with some chopped green onions. I loved how flavorful this dish was and how it wasn't too sweet. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My husband and I are vegetarians but we're not huge fans of tofu so we used prepackaged seitan instead. This is my absolute favorite vegetarian "meat" dish and really reminds me of when I could eat out at Chinese restaurants. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
yummy and easy. would add more oj for a more orange flavor. would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This did not turn out how I expected it to. It was good, but not super great. I thought the sauce was a little thin and the fried tofu was a bit much. I might skip frying the tofu next time and see if I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Just OK. I love tofu, but not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States