Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! I had some modifications that I felt improved it though (although I felt that it's an excellent recipe as-is). I reduced the quantity of sugar significantly (I think I'll cut the sugar out entirely next time I make it) since the Orange Juice I used was sweet enough. Additionally, I added a few splashes of rice vinegar to the sauce and it really made the flavor of the sauce sing. Lastly, I used red pepper flakes (and lots of them) instead of chili paste and stirfried vegetables with the dish (Trader Joe's Harvest Medley works wonderfully with this recipe). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I didn't coat the tofu with cornstarch and instead just fried it in a bit of oil in the pan. I really enjoyed this stir-fry and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
we really like this overall. If you like the spice level depends a lot on how spicy you like your food. I like medium spicy food and it was just right for me. For folks that don't like spicy food....might want to cut back on the chili paste. It was not bad but gets a 4 as is. I added some stuff to bring it up to snuff for a re run: added 1/4 tsp of ginger, 1 tsp of sesame oil, 1 tsp of sesame seeds and 1minced garlic clove, sugar snap pea pods and minced green onions.. It does have a lot of orange flavor. Again...depends on how much citrus you like. Hubby and I liked it as is. At first my daughter did not like the orange/thought it was too much but as she ate more it grew on her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good, but when using tofu, even extra firm tofu, it is much better to first put between some paper towels, and put a plate with some weight ( i.e. a large can of tomatoes ) on the plate, to extract most of the moisture from the tofu. Then let it sit in the liquid used for cooking to absorb the flavors. You can then proceed as in the recipe. Much ,more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is really yummy! I do not normally love tofu but fried up like this, it could become a staple in my home. Even my meat eating husband was impressed. I would use different veggies next time as I don't really find carrots suit this dish. Peppers and snap peas would probably be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Great recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good. I made more sauce (about 1/2 again as much) and added snow peas, broccoli, red bell pepper, onion, mushroom and garlic to the carrots. Next time I think I'll deep fry the tofu due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My son (the vegetarian) suggested using Tempeh rather than tofu as it holds up a bit better and is better nutrition. (We didn't coat it with cornstarch.) We added lots of veggies. The sauce was a little watery, but still tasty. We will use again, but modify to our tastes. A good starter recipe to expand to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
It would have had more flavor if i just poured water over my veggies and tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States