Orange Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The Orange Banana Smoothie delivers: it tastes pleasantly of orange and banana; and if banana were a color, I would call the delightful pale hue banana-orange. I had only softball-sized navel oranges on hand and so, wishing to avoid creating Orangey McOrangerson's Orange-Fetish Delight, I used only one. I assumed one of these mutants was about the size of two standard oranges and, anyway, it's a breakfast smoothie and nobody's handing out beauty prizes at 6:30 in the morning. When I wake up more, however, I shall give this smoothie a silver medal (my favorite avocado smoothie got the gold) and add it to my standard repertoire. Caveat: yes, it's a little "stringy." Might be because real oranges are stringy. You cooould use pulp-free OJ - or just deal with it: fiber's good for you and, unless your oranges are more like the Juggernaut than mine was (which isn't possible), it's not only bearable but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I don't recommend it to anyone it was too stringy and gross you could hardly taste the banana I would make it with 3 or 4 bananas and 1 or a half of an orange and I would also use the Christmas mandarin oranges and use 2 of those but 1 or a half of the big oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Only one of the few recipes that give me confidence in putting whole oranges in smoothies.... I skipped the ice and salt, use 2 bananas and 1 orange... (will try 2 oranges and 1 banana next time) and a very yummy, thick and tasty smoothie was born! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It's good,but instead of ice, freeze yer oranges. Rest the oranges in hot tapwater a few minutes, then peel easily and section them. A little nuts, or grapenuts, or milled flaxseed is good. I don't use yogurt, but use milk+orange juice. I use less sugar. Frozen bananas make my blender work too hard. A mini-pinch of baking soda helps tame the sourness. And a splash of vanilla extract is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was an OK recipe. The orange was stringy so I had to chew that part and I hate chewing smoothies. If I make this recipe again I will use orange juice instead of of oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. I left out the sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I enjyoed this a lot! I didn't have any yogurt, so I substituted by adding some vanilla to the milk and ice cubes to thicken it up a bit. Plus I cut the sugar. Great vitamin c and potassium drink for a quick meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love smoothie's for breakfast and the combination of orange and banana is wonderful, however I tweaked the recipe to my tastes. I froze my banana and used orange juice vs. a fresh orange. I left out the salt and used a bit more ice. I used less milk and more yogurt to make it thicker and cut back on the sugar. Overall, very good but you do need to play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is good as is. I wanted some zing so I added frozen cranberries...pretty good change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I make a lot of breakfast smoothies, but I like them thick. I knew the amount of liquid vs. frozen was going to produce a really thin smoothie; my banana was even frozen. I have a whole bag of sweet, juicy oranges, so I was glad to find a recipe that used the whole orange. My blender is really strong, so I had no issues with the orange being stringy. I added a bit of protein powder and ground flax. I loved it, but next time I will use WAY less milk and more ice. Oh, and I left out the sugar since my fruit is so sweet. I even added the salt, can't detect it though so next time I'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States