Orange Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I give this a 3 star, because no one was interested in eating these yesterday. Guests eat one to try, then walk away. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The amounts are off and the "dough" isn't really a dough. Very loose and sticky. If I were to make these again I'd definitely up the powdered sugar and cookies. Also, I think I would enjoy the flavor more if I used orange soda rather than orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Delicious! Perfect for a cool summer treat! Beware these are not for those who do not like strong orange flavor. The reason it got 4 stars instead of 5 is because the ingredient amounts are off. I used 2 cups powdered sugar and a little extra crushed cookies (I used animal crackers =vegan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I crushed a 12 oz bag of vanilla wafers and it was the right amount. These had too much bite for us. The oj is very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were amazing and so easy to make. This recipe is so easy to make. I took them to a morning get together and they were one of the first items to disappear! I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whtesatin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I grew up making these with my Mom and my brother. We love them and I now make them with my own children. They are super easy and super fun to make with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are a wonderful change from rum balls. My family doesn't like coconut, so I substituted toasted pecans that had been chopped fine in the food processor. Also, I doubled the recipe which made perfect use of the whole box of vanilla wafers. I agree that the dough was a bit sticky, but I used powdered sugar to "flour" my hands for the rolling and that helped a lot. The "1/2 (6 ounce) can of OJ" ingredient is confusing- I think it means for a standard recipe use 3 oz. of OJ; a double recipe would be 6 oz. These started out tasting like a strong creamsicle and have mellowed over the days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My mother-in-law and I make these every year around Christmas time. The family can't get enough of their orangey goodness! Definitely serve chilled though. The people saying the dough is too juicy to form - put the dough in the refrigerator for an hour before you attempt to form into balls, it makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These were really yummy! My complaint, as it seems was the same for others, is that it was to juicy and sticky. Impossible to work with. After I added almost an additional cup of powdered sugar I decided to double the rest of the ingredients except the OJ. I think the original OJ amount of 6 oz is incorrect. I think for a single batch it would of come out right with 3 oz of OJ concentrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalley30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Love this recipe. A friend gave it to me years ago and it's great for parties or get-togethers. Plus you can freeze some to have on hand for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States