Orange Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
i think it would be better if you reduced the honey and orange juice in a sauce pan before coating the ham it would give a better consistency and you would not need to baste the ham and score the rind of the ham allowing the honey and orange juice to got into the flesh of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was pretty good but found it could have used more honey and more zip. Next time I will use this recipe but add Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I liked the ham, but not so much the orange juice and honey. I'd do away with the whole cloves too. If I make this again, I'll make my own minor adjustments. I think this recipe can be a good recipe if it is made to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Everyone loved this. I combined the honey and orange juice and poured it over the ham and then let it cook. I didn't have any whole cloves, so I just ommitted them completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I've made this 3 or 4 times, and am surprised to find that I forgot to review it until now. It's not a fabulous recipe, but still pretty tasty. I started with a "Cure 81" boneless half ham. And I've never seen a 6 oz. can of frozen orange juice concentrate, so I just measured half of a 12 oz. can. After basting every 10 minutes for the full hour, the "glaze" is still mostly in the roasting pan and not on the ham, although it does thicken up later and is better on the leftovers. The ease of making this recipe, and the fact that so few ingredients add such great flavors, are the major pluses of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I make this ham every year. Instead of honey I use 1 cup of maple syrup which gives a thicker glaze. Instead of frozen orange juice I use ready to drink orange juice. It is a hit in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday for my New Year's Day ham and can sum it up in two words: Simple Elegance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledareya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Netarts, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Simple and very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Selle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Got rave reviews of this at Christmas! I had to up the recipe to feed 6. I used orange blossom honey to add even more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We really liked this and the ham was very moist. I cooked a bone in butt portion ham since they were so cheap and I think they have better flavor anyway. After reading reviews, I reduced the sauce before pouring it on the ham, which I cooked in an oven bag. I did add some brown sugar, dry mustard and worcheshire sauce after tasting the sauce-it just needed a little somethin' somethin'. I do think this could be improved with some orange zest maybe, some marmalade or? The orange flavor was not really prevelant, just sweetness. A very nice Easter ham overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States