Orange Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Please don't forget those seeds, when you cut the squash in half spread the seeds out on a piece of foil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, paprika onion and garlic powder and bake them along with the squash anbd in 5 minutes you'll have a little snack wile you're cooking the rest of your meal...they go great with an ice cold beer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I loved the hint of orange taste and the easy preparation of this dish; however, I had to fill the hole with something so I diced two macintosh apples and tossed them with the orange sauce and then placed them in the squash. I cut the baking time of the sqash to 30 min and then baked the squash and apples together for 30 min. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was really tasty. I didn't have OJ concentrate so I just used regular OJ. I cut the cooking time down by partially cooking the squash in the microwave and then finishing it up in the oven with chicken that I was baking.This would be a great holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe was very good but very sweet. I found adding soy sauce balanced out the sweet with a salty taste. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I completely enjoyed this recipe. It is an ingenious idea way to get squash past your kid's plate. It worked. I did combine two recipes, however. This one and "Acorn Squash with Apple". So I peeled and sliced the squash and simmered it with apple and the orange sauce. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Everyone loved it! Personally, I thought it had too much nutmeg, but I will definitely make it again, but I'll use 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg instead of 1 teaspoon. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Should add orange peel to punch up flavoring. When reheated and mashed with butter and brown sugar is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
OK. I used honey instead of brown sugar. Maybe that's why mine wasn't great. Also I had to cook my squash for more than an hour in a gas oven and they still weren't very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was my first time making any king of winter squash, It turned out totally wonderful! I used a sweet dumpling squash instead of the acorn squash, and used regular orange juice. I filled the squash with the sauce mix and after the squash finished backing, I reduced the sauce over low heat, and then drizzled it over the squash. It was totally wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mascotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Didn't have a strong orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States