Orange Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I thought the orange was over powering. I had it without the orange juice and it was delicious. I know that defeats the recipe, but for me, the orange juice overpowered the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this both the way as written and then with my modifications. As written it is good, not great and as another reviewer stated, the orange is overpowering and they were slightly under cooked. But nontheless I wanted to try it again my way as it had potential. First I baked the squashes at 400 for 45 minutes face down and brushed with a smidge of olive oil around the edges. Second I halved the orange concentrate and upped the butter by a tablespoon. Also added a 1/2 teaspoon more of brown sugar. And added chopped peeled empire apples to the centers (another reviewer had suggested that). Cooked for another 20 minutes and done. The apples will not be soft or like the consistency of apple pie apples but they add something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Easy and delicious way to have acorn squash. I loved the orange flavoring and the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Delicious - the citrus of OJ and the sweetness of the squash and sugar create a great balance. I used fresh OJ, instead of concentrate and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is similar to how I usually make acorn squash. Since I mash everything together in the end I do not mix the ingredients up separately before pouring it into the well (one less dish to clean). I just pour regular orange juice (not concentrate) right into the well then add a piece of butter, sprinkle in the brown sugar and the spice (I prefer just cinnamon). Give it a slight swirl with a chopstick and cook until soft. Pour off the liquid into a bowl, scoop out the flesh and mash together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great recipe! The oj really adds a nice touch. My husband likes this, even though he normally doesn't care for squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Didn't have a strong orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Nobody liked it - not even me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seleta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very good and easy. Instead of concentrated orange juice I used 1 cup of freshly squeezed OJ, reduced it down to 1/4 cup, added the butter and the rest of the ingredients for the sauce and it turned out much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Tasty squash. A bit different for the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States