Orange Apricot Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this to serve at a brunch as a not-too-sweet addition to the bread tray. Everyone liked it. I didn't get 1 TBSP of zest from my small orange so added a bit of natural orange extract to the batter to bump up the orange flavor. I used more apricots so also added an extra splash of o.juice. My loaf needed 50 minutes in the oven. As an alternative, next time I will increase the butter by 2-3 TBSP to keep it moist, maybe add some Cointreau to the dried fruit and o.j. mixture, possibly increase the sugar slightly to make it more of a cake rather than a loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
It needs salt! And Baking powder or soda or whatever one helps things rise. It was flat and hard. I can see how it could be yummy, with the addition of a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this recipe to give it a face for the AllRecipes Allstars challenge. Very easy to make. I took it to work and everyone really liked it. A couple of people said that it seemed a little flat. May have to tweak a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Good tasting bread, but I had to bake it for 1 hour before it was done. I find the recipe too sweet though, next time I will use half the sugar. Instead of 1/2 cup raisins, I used 1/4 cup raisins and 1/4 cup tropical mix dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
JUST MADE THIS LOAF, YUMMY!! NEXT TIME I MAKE IT WILL CHOP THE APRICOTS SMALLER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
One daughter doesn't like raisins and the other doesn't like dried apricots but they both liked this. I didn't chop the raisins but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. One word of warning I sliced this whilst still warm and it crumbled but once cold it was fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I was not overly thrilled with this loaf. My husband wasn't either. It was a bit dry and seems to either be missing something or the existing ingredients don't meld together just right. Unless you enjoy a very lightly sweetened fruit bread you might want to try it. Otherwise I'm sure there are better choices. My kids would not even touch this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
A Enjoyed this bread very much. It had great flavor. I made it exactly as the recipe called for. The only thing I'll do differently next time is add more apricots. And thats only because I prefer more fruit in my fruit breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States