Orange Almond Biscotti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were really good, definitely the really crunchy kind of biscotti. I thought 1 1/4 cups of sugar sounded like a lot, so I cut it down to 1 cup and kinda wished I hadn’t. It really does need all the sugar. And the dough was pretty sticky, so I found that wetting my hands with water really helped when shaping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love making these for my family and friends. I use whole wheat flour and splenda instead of sugar. I also add 1/3 cup wheat germ and sometimes ground flax seeds. I too have increased the almond flavor to 1 teaspoon. I add applesauce if the dough gets too dry and dip my hands in flour to handle the dough if it is too sticky. There're healthy and delicious and I can't make enough of them. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Well this is the first bicotti recipe i have tried, it was easy, and fairly cheap to make. It was deffinatly cheaped than buying it, and tasted much better. Thanks for sharing I will be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Excellent! My first try at Biscotti and my family is eating it so fast I will have to double the recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have a batch of this recipe on my cooling rack as I type. I used 1 cup of sugar and other than that, followed the recipe exact. Easy to mold and slice. Initially baked for 25 minutes and 6 minutes on each side after slicing. Will dip top half in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great but I baked 35min at 300F then sliced. Baked another 10 min on each side at 350F. Once cooled I dipped in melted white choc. Left out the orange flavoring and added extra almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I followed the advice of a previous reviewer, and baked it longer and cooler, 300f. I didn't have an orange, so used orange juice. Delicious! I crushed some almonds and baked them into the top of the loaf for its first bake. Once cooled after the second baking, I dipped them into chocolate. These are fantastic with a good strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
The orange flavor really stuck out to me and tasted very good! I especially loved the combination of that and the almond. I would do nothing to change this recipe. I sampled some while it was still soft and it was just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was really crunchy and good! I omitted the orange rind as I wanted to try out the plain one first. Next time however I will add the rind inshaAllah. It sure will enhance the flavor. I used cashewnuts instead of almonds too. This is a good and easy recipe. I did not have any problem with the dough like some of reviewers have said before. The dough was just fine although a lil sticky. I greased my hands well and pressed the dough on the baking tray. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This biscotti has a wonderful crunch. I used chopped almonds and tossed in some dried cranberries. I also drizzled with white and semi-sweet chocolate with wonderful results. These improve with age so make them a day ahead. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States